We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a hurry!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buddy Wonton Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1,048 of 2,424 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen Alexandra
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food in a hurry!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Buddy offers a good range of Cantonese dishes. The restaurant gets busy and frenetic between 6.00 and 7:30 p.m. If you prefer less noise and bustle, go at 7:30 p.m. The service is super rapid and this can make your head spin from the frantic action of the staff.
The food is standard Chinese and the restaurant is usually filled with 80%+ Chinese customers. (A recommendation for authenticity).
The individual dishes offered on the menu are enormous and most people seem to leave with a big doggie bag for the next day's dinner.
All said, this is good, plain Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMORTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for consistently good Chinese food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you're looking for good and fast Chinese food on the south side of Edmonton, you can't go wrong with Buddy Wonton in the old Strathcona area. They serve basic Chinese food that will satisfy most asian and western diners.

They have a large menu that covers all of the food groups. I eat here on a weekly basis and have never been disappointed. Service is always good and the food arrives quickly.

For a Chinese restaurant the place is relatively clean and well looked after. There is ample free parking in the shopping centre where the restaurant is located.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply surprising”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

As others have said, the food here is simple but surprisingly good. I was pleased to see that the food and service are authentically Oriental. It is lovely to have good tea served in a traditional cup.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“simple Chinese food”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a Cantonese style restaurant. Services are professional and I really like their food. Cantonese style food is kind in between of real Chinese food and Western-Chinese food. Most of my Canadian friend like to eat here. It definitely worth a try. I visit this restaurant around twice a week when I'm in Edmonton.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T0asta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple, comfort chinese food...”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Since moving from Vancouver, you can imagine my disappointment at the quality of chinese food here in Edmonton. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find that Buddy's quality of food was quite good. My wife and I have returned to the restaurant many times since our first visit back in 2008. I normally don't share my opinions, which is why I haven't written about it before... Buddy's is one of the better chinese restaurant in the city. I have tried many in the city. It's your typical Cantonese style of food, their service is relatively quick, and friendly. And best of all, the food is very well priced. We normally end up spending between $30-$40 a meal for 2-3 dishes with a container of rice. I eat a lot... Everytime that we've gone, the restaurant has always been busy, so go early if you don't like waiting. Their menu is quite large(selection of food), in both english and chinese. But if you know chinese, I'd recommend using the chinese menu... :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canuckcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy Wonton Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buddy Wonton Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing