We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastes like a diner. Feels like a hair salon.”
Review of Delux Burger Bar

Delux Burger Bar
Ranked #722 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tastes like a diner. Feels like a hair salon.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I had the delux with the stella Artois battered onion rings with a strawberry milkshake. Stuck behind the table now. Burger was actually charbroiled and the onion rings were a perfect crispiness. Not overdone. Not canned mushrooms either which is an instant turn off for me. Bacon was nice and chewy and the cheese wasn't processed. A define ate 5/5 burger meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingEvilMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“GLUTEN FREE OPTION FOR BURGER”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The atmosphere in this restaurant is friendly and the decor very attractive. The menu is made up mainly of burgers, hotdogs and fries - but with a difference. There are a number of options for bread including wraps and even a gluten free bun. The delicious fresh fries are served in a miniature shopping cart and one portion was ample for the four of us.Sweet potato fries are also available. My hamburger was delicious and I enjoyed having it served on a bun which was gluten free. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants a casual lunch in a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
448 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,301 helpful votes
“Amazing Decor, Wish The Food Matched!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This restaurant is located within the West Edmonton Mall, in the Bourbon Street Section. It is housed among many other restaurants, but this one stands out for its exquisite decor. It is very modern and exotic.

The service was very good, but I feel the food didn't live up to what you would expect from a place like this. For the price you pay for a burger, I was expecting a much bigger and meatier burger. While they were good, A&W's burgers are much better for a lower price.

We also ordered the "A La Cart" duo fries, which is a mixture of sweet potato and regular fries. They were okay. Yes, they were fresh and seemed to be hand cut, but they seemed to have too much oil and salt.

I think this place is a definite try-it-once type of place. If I go back, it would be to hang out at the bar with the "cool cats" and enjoy the ambiance of the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
397 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Nice change from the average fast food burger but not cheap”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have been here many times and for the most part, have enjoyed the food here. Have tried all the appetizers on the menu over the years and all of them are quite good. Beware though, the prices are fairly high for what you get. The popcorn shrimp appetizer was tasty but there wasn't much of it. It looked "full" when the box comes to you but 2/3 of the box was filled with puff noodles (which one doesn't normally eat) and only the top layer was the actual shrimp! The beet salad was tasty and for $12.50, was a fairly good size. I had the delux burger tonight. It was fine - not outstanding, but was better than a fast food burger. The sweet potato fries are usually soggy but tonight, they were nice and hot and crispy. My cosmopolitan was pretty good.

Overall, I think the food is fairly good for the most part but not always consistent in the quality. Service is also hit and miss - sometimes good, sometimes poor.

If you are paying by credit card or debit card, make sure you monitor your credit card or bank statement carefully. On 2 occasions, our credit card was charged the incorrect amount and we had to deal with the credit card company and the restaurant to sort it out. They always refunded our money but it was a hassle. So, just be aware of what your credit card is being charged.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good burger place”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

By far the best burger I have had. Little expense but very good, nice atmosphere,fairly busy, either go early or later. Before 6 pm or after 8pm and you won't have to wait in line as long or at all.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nedahold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delux Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Delux Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing