We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! The worst place in the food court would be better.”
Review of Tony Roma's

Tony Roma's
Ranked #704 of 2,424 Restaurants in Edmonton
Neighborhood: Summerlea
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Summerlea
Blackie, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Horrible! The worst place in the food court would be better.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Yesterday's dining experience at your restaurant can be summed up in one word, "Terrible".

We got there and the restaurant was NOT busy, every other restaurant on Bourbon Street was packed, this should have been our first clue. We were seated in the East side of the restaurant immediately.

Our drink order was taken promptly but it took 10 - 15 minutes until the drinks showed up. We placed our order (2 meals from the lunch menu, one item from the kids menu). 45 minutes later, our food finally arrived.

My wife's riblings were completely dry and gross. The bun on my pulled chicken was terrible, and my boy's burger was disgusting.

Terrible service, horrible food. Not in line with what I expect from the Tony Romas brand.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottfromBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TR_TonyRomas, Public Relations Manager at Tony Roma's, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi There Scott,

We would like to being our response with an apology. There is never a time that we would want our guest to have an experience like the one that you have described and this does not reflect the image that Tony Roma's would like to have as a brand.

As we read your review, there were a few times that stood out, first and foremost was the wait time. Of course, we understand that there are moments when our kitchen becomes extremely busy and will let our guests know, but it is not too often that we are acceptable of a 45 minute wait for your food to be served and we apologize. Also, we noticed that you stated that your wife's riblings were dry and gross and dry nor gross are adjectives that we want to be heard when describing our food. Please know that these issues will be addressed from every angle and we apologize for your recent visit.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an honest review and let us know about your experience. Please feel free to write to us at socialmedia@romacorp.com if you have any questions, issues or concerns.

Thank you,

Team TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    21
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As Expected”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

On the whole my experience was as expected. It was a very busy spot and I sat at the bar, as I was by myself. The service was great and the food came quickly. My beverage was replaced automatically without having to ask. The meal was good; however, I was not a fan of the mashed potato - not their fault, as they were not bad just not for me. The price was right also and the staff were very courteous and attentive. Good spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mid afternoon nightmare”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Place was half empty and was told it would be 15 minutes for a table, was then seated out front in a cd draft. No service and waitress sent ten minutes looking at pictures on her phone with another table. When we asked to move she told us her was going on her break and she won't be back, no loss at all. The other service for the meal was almost as bad, we had to walk around the place twice to find enough ketchup, as the staff was gone. Washrooms were so dirty we needed to use the wipes on the table to wash our hands. Food was good and standard Tony fare.

Helpful?
Thank Loosespoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TR_TonyRomas, Public Relations Manager at Tony Roma's, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi There,

First and foremost, we'd like to apologize for your recent visit to Tony Roma's. After reading your review we would definitely like to hear more from you. Please write to us at the following email address: socialmedia@romacorp.com. Within the email please include your contact information, a brief description of your visit and which location you visited.

We hope to hear from you soon!

Thank you,

Team TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was almost refused entry as we had a stroller with a sleeping baby in it !”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We were seated out on the patio which was ok but we were told there was no server for that area but it was the only place you can bring a stroller! We took our chances on getting served but once seated we noticed the table ; rod-iron and had a pattern in it the pattern was fairly deep and FILLED with old good and dirt ... No table cloth no plexi glass cover not even a place mat! Just us and that dirty table. We conceded to sit there and waited for a considerable amount of time to be served. The food once it came was as usual very good but some how this restaurant needs to be more family friendly and clean. I was really disappointed in this experience and would recommend a different location. If you have a young family with a stroller! Or if you venture to the patio area and would like a clean table don't sit at the round one in the far left corner!!! The others I don't know about !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TR_TonyRomas, Public Relations Manager at Tony Roma's, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Lori,

We are extremely sorry. First of all for the experience that you had at our Edmonton Mall location, but also for the service. We truly apologize for the inconvenience and would never want to turn a guest away simply because they have a stroller. This is unacceptable. Please write to us at socialmedia@romacorp.com. We'd like to have your information as well as which location this experience took place so we may contact you and make sure this never happens again.

Thank you,

Team TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Won't Return”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stopped here because we were given a gift card for Christmas. Hubby and I have to be gluten free due to allergies so the menu is very limited for us. We got there about 3pm on a Sunday afternoon and were told that it would be a 10-15 minute wait for a table. We waited for 40 minutes while observing the restaurant was maybe 1/3 full. Not once were we told it would be longer we just sat and were for the most part ignored. We finally got a table in the lounge, where we ordered ribs and baked potatoes ...We can have the ribs but we cannot have frys because of cross contamination. Our waitress returned and we were told there were no baked potatoes they were only made for dinner. The food was ok but $60.00 for two with basically a half rack of ribs and three pieces of broccoli each doesn't cut it for me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TR_TonyRomas, Public Relations Manager at Tony Roma's, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi,

First and foremost, we'd like to apologize for your recent visit to Tony Roma's. Please write to us at socialmedia@romacorp.com. We'd like to make sure this type of experience does not happen again. All of your comments and suggestions are taken seriously and we hope to hear from you soon. Please, within the email, include your contact information, a brief description of your visit and which location you visited.

Thank you,

Team TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Roma's also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Tony Roma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing