We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Finally Made it....”
Review of Lingnan

Lingnan
Ranked #123 of 2,424 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central McDougall
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I Finally Made it....”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have heard about this place for years and I finally made it there. It was a special occasion so we started with Chinese Spring Rolls (not your usual) and Green Onion Cakes that were amazing. Then we split Szechuan Beef, Crispy Lemon Chicken (one the meals I had heard so much about), Cantonese Chow Mein, Fried Rice and Szechuan Shrimp. None of the meals disappointed me. They were delicious and the portions were so huge everyone got portions to take home. We were all too full to try any dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    31
    12
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Threw It Out”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ordered take out.

The egg rolls were gigantic and tasted nothing like a traditional egg roll - there wasn't enough plum sauce in the world to make these edible. The spare ribs were gristle, the fried rice bland. The sweet and sour chicken was passable - the chicken balls were top quality meat but the sauce was waTery and weak.

There was one thing which puts them above all others - price - I'd guess 20% higher than most.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SCleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The food is ok but it's not much different then you would get at any other North Americanized Chinese food restaurant. The prices are higher (we pay about 20% more for the same food as other similar places). If you don't mind salty - Ami's chicken (Dry spicy chicken) is quite good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank edfoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and Authentic Chinese Food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have visited many times and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. Décor is lovely---old style Chinese.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take out was great!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ordered take out. It came fast and was delicious ! My wife and daughter loved the rice, chow mein and vegetable dishes. I loved the beef!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptone777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lingnan also viewed

 

Been to Lingnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing