We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for the food”
Review of Sherlock Holmes - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sherlock Holmes
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Long wait for the food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Inside, very loud as the Eurocup was going on. Sat on a crowded patio after what I thought would be the lunch rush (1 pm on a Friday). Waited about 45 minutes for food, but we were warned when we sat down. Chicken sandwich was made with real, non processed chicken breast but wasn't blown away by flavour. Fries were fresh and good. Coworker really enjoyed his lunch, but I don't remember what it was. Next time in Edmonton, I likely won't return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Priton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get the fish and chips!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you order strategically you will eat very well. Avoid the chicken burgers!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peripotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for a pint”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place to meet friends for a pint, and if your hungry, try the shepards pie it's really good. Atmosphere is nice too very friendly place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Welcome Oasis in WEM”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Cold, properly poured Guiness, excellent nachos and a traditional atmosphere. A great way to wind down after a hard day at WEM. Signed bills on the pillars are pretty cool too!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagnumPEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I met up with some friends at the Sherlock Holmes pub and it was great. It is a very busy place, which is a good sign (always good when locals are there). My food was great and the beer was reasonably priced for their downtown location. The pub is full of memorabilia which is fun to look at. And the waitresses were great. Very attentive and did not try to make us leave immediately after we were done. Definitely a fun place to hang out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kpetON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherlock Holmes also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing