We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”

Saratoga Inn Restaurant
Ranked #682 of 2,439 Restaurants in Edmonton
Neighborhood: Calgary Trail South
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Calgary Trail South
1 review
“Classic”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family had been coming here for years. My grandfather took me to the Saratoga when I was a child and I will continue to bring my own to this warm, inviting, and familiar place.
The food is always consistent, delicious, and served with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Home style fare”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Saratoga has been a staple in diner food for over 30 years. There's nothing fancy on this menu, but if you are in the mood for all day breakfast, sandwitches, burgers or the daily special entrees, above average service will ensure you are in and out in a hurry.

Highlights include eggs benedict, the reuben and club sandwitch, and baked spaghetti. This is a great spot for an affordable lunch and you'll be back before the boss knows you are missing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Dine 'n Dash Delights”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Been going to this restaurant for years. It's now a little trickier to get to with a new overpass almost on top of it. Best access is from 23 ave just west of Gateway/Calgary Tr. or Southbound on Calgary Trail, turn RT at set of lights 31 Ave for short drive in.
Still very busy even though 18 wheelers can't really get in there anymore.
Mon-Fri their breakfast special for $5.99 ends at 11am which is the best deal.
Wide variety of other menu items for breakfast as well, delivered as quickly as anything else.

Not fancy but clean decore, service is FAST!! Longest time I've waited for breakfast after ordering (4 people) is about 7-8 minutes. Fast service has always been the hallmark of this little restaurant that's been around since the '60's.

I keep coming back because of good food, fair price and speedy service.
I'm sure the truckers wish they could still get in/out easily.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I would definitely come here again.”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It's always a good sign when you see a restaurant being frequented by locals, and being greeted by name and offered their "usual table". The Saratoga was a welcome surprise when we were looking for a place for supper that wasn't fast food but wouldn't involve an hour-long wait, either.

Sure, the decor is a little dated, but it's homey and comfortable and feels like a small-town diner. The staff at the Saratoga were all very friendly and warm, and great with our kids. The service alone would make me recommend this location, but the food was also excellent and served in portions that were quite generous but not excessive. The menu consists of home-style meals, burgers, sandwiches and pizza. The breakfast menu was very appealing. Expect to spend $15-20 per person, depending whether you order drinks/dessert.

My only disappointments - the kids' meals are a bit overpriced, as are the drinks. ($2.65 for a can of pop??) But the meal was great, the service was quick and super-friendly, and the location can't be beat if you're staying at the Holiday Inn Express near the South Common.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good home style cooking.”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Nice family style Restaurant next door to the Holiday Inn Express, Edmonton South (where I was staying). Food was good and inexpensive and service was prompt and efficient.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing