We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty is everything”

Punjab Sweets & Restaurant
Ranked #1,389 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honesty is everything”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Samosas here are very tasty, the service is tolerable, the issue of trust is questionable. I ordered 25 samosas and when I got home I decided to count them for the first time, never questioning the number in past orders. I was surprised to find my order short 2 samosas. This now raises the question of the business ethics of the whole company. Lost a customer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Counter Service Needs Improvement”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The woman at the front counter on weekdays needs some training in good customer service, like how to be pleasant. Prices for the sweets from the front display case are a bit high.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank birdbrayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sweets for a Terrible Service.”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The sweets taste pretty good even being a little expansive. They have a big variety. The service was terrible. The lady didn't give me decent attention to explain about the different types of sweets. She was rude.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lido_Faverzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty, go for it!”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I love this relatively small place and always stop in whenever we go through Edmonton. Offering great value for the low-cost buffet, it often filled with families originating from that corner of the world, enjoying the very authentic buffet. The butter chicken is awesome, while the Aloo Gobi is my wife's favourite. I generally take a bit of everything, as it's all good! The restaurant was renovated a few months ago, improving the ambiance. We've tried nearby competing Indian buffets, and always come back to Punjab's. Stop searching, go for it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can I Have My Buffet To Go?”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The atmosphere has improved and the food will satisfy your East Indian cravings, with a bakery in back to take a kilo of jalebi home.
However, prices are slowly going up over the years, and popularity is not without it's share of crowds.
Perhaps, because of the supper rush, we were made to feel hurried and were transferred to a smaller table.
Like some other East Indian buffet restaurants, this casual dining place has almost non-existent service. It really depends who your waiter/waitress is though as to the quality of attention.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jefferray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjab Sweets & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Punjab Sweets & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing