We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out”
Review of Louisiana Purchase

Louisiana Purchase
Reserve with OpenTable
Louisiana Purchase is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Oliver
Cross street: 104 - Avenue
Transit: Adjacent to main bus routes.
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I went here for my birthday supper. I had the crab cakes. I lived in the southern states for a few years. I usually had crab cakes with remoulade sauce. I really liked these crab cakes with a mango salsa. I used the tiger sauce on the table to spice them up. My only criticism is that the crab looked more like minced tuna instead of lump crab meat which I love.
The vegetables were amazing! I should have doubled the veggies and skipped the rice which was also very good.
I had the banana foster for dessert and it was sweet and rich. It is a huge portion so great for sharing.
The service was fantastic from start to finish. I would love to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelLovesCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    64
    18
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute winner”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been going to Louisiana Purchase for two decades and have never had a bad experience. The Cajun food is delicious and beautifully prepared. The servers are consistently attentive without being obtrusive. Lots of free parking. I would recommend reservations on weekends as this is a popular spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Want some Alligator?”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice place, some items are a bit more pricy. We went with an other family with small kids. Everybody was happy with the meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Food is amazingly amazing, atmosphere is fun and not snobbish at all, service is great and prices are more than reasonable. Dollar for dollar probably Edmonton's finest restaurant, everything is freshly made, delicious and of the highest quality. I highly suggest you go to this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Seen this place on you gotta eat here, really enjoyed our meal loved the alligator kabob, and their red beans. Only downside for it I thought was location it's kinda hidden will defiantly go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KylenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Purchase also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Louisiana Purchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing