We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious authentic Greek!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koutouki Taverna

Koutouki Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Koutouki Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #327 of 2,376 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Westmount
Cross street: 107 Ave 124 Street
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Greek!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Amazing food and a lovely place. Lots of Greek culture vested in this joint. Totally a great stop by on a cold day.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank destroy_tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    32
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Best Greek food in the city! Always has been and probably always will be! Very obvious that it is family run and they care about their business and customers. Hope it stays around for a very very long time. A little pricey, but worth every cent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable Food But Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I recently made a return visit to Koutouki. We'd been there before a number of times but had ceased going as we found that the service overall had been faltering. In any case we stopped by recently for a quick bite to eat. As we felt like sharing a few smaller items, we ordered the following:

Greek Salad - nothing spectacular, a bit heavy on tomatoes and feta and a bit light on cucumber and peppers. I'd describe it as on par with greek salad at any number of restaurants flavour wise, but, overpriced.

Calamari - we found this to be a bit of a letdown; the calamari was fresh, however, the breading was kind of soggy and not overly flavorful. It was served with a disproportionately large amount of onions. Considering the cost, that it doesn't even come with a side ot tzatziki is disappointing.

Dolmades - probably the best item we had this visit; flavourful, well seasoned and enjoyable. That said, and, as is the theme here, the charge relative to the amount of food given is not good.

Keftedes - since the last time we'd visited this dish has changed slightly; on previous visits it was a lot more keftedes that were smaller in size. On this visit, the order was comprised of only 6 keftedes of a small-medium size. Flavour was good but not great.

So, as you're already guessing, I didn't walk away from this visit overly enamoured or dying to run back. If you're in the mood for Greek food, they do the job, but, you pay a premium that neither the food nor the service seem to warrant. Will we be back.....likely not anytime soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl_from_YEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Greek Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have gone there to eat ,and it seems to get better each time.From the staff to the food EXCELLENT

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meredith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had heard great things about this place from friends. We were a bit let down. Neat interior, very authentic, welcoming and charming. The food was good, nothing to rave over but good. Prices seemed very high for what we got though, and service was slow.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SGulliford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koutouki Taverna also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Koutouki Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing