We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best and most consistent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julio's Barrio

Julio's Barrio
Ranked #46 of 2,376 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Strathcona
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best and most consistent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I absolutely love julios and all my friends knows it's my favorite joint with my favorite drink (krazy kanuck bulldog). And again we all got together and had amazing service, prompt delicious food and delicious drinks. Thank you julios for maintaining such a great restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    99
    59
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped in for an impromptu lunch and ordered taco salad and fish tacos. The taco salad was fairly average, although a good size. The fish tacos were quite tasty and served with refried beans and corn salsa. We ordered a glass of wine with lunch and couldn't decide whether we wanted white, so our server brought a sample. That was very helpful, but the white wine was terrible so we settled on a red, Malbec, which was quite good. Overall, the service was efficient but could have been a little friendlier. In summary, a substantial and satisfying lunch that certainly wasn't the best (or worst) Mexican food I have had.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anderses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“More of a college stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Not authentic by any means. Full of college age kids. The open doors and outdoor seating is a plus for Edmonton. But the couple times trying the food we would much rather go to a more authentic place for dinner. This place does get the crowds. Local students love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevellingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best People Watching and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We waited for half an hour to sit on their outdoor tables but it was so worth it. My date and I loved the place, the food, the service and the drinks. Absolutely recommend it for a sunny day in Edmonton (and it looked fun at night too).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“poor service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I loved the different options of Mexican type food. I would have to say that it is not 100% authentic, but the flavors are generally very good. Service is horrible on whyte ave location.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julio's Barrio also viewed

 

Been to Julio's Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing