We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

Il Forno Pizzeria
Ranked #1,240 of 2,376 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Il Forno has been a regular place for family dinners for years. It was a constant favourite for our kids and visitors form outside Edmonton. Our last dinner was a special family event , in a family style. Three generations of family together after many years not seeing each other.
Well the service was fine, the meal disappointing. My spouse ordered whitefish with a tomato salsa, it arrived as salmon, and an apology that there was no more whitefish. Suitably disappointed as if you send it back everyone will eating on staggered shifts.
I think I am signing out, and will not be back.
I would rather keep the memories and pictures of fun-filled family dinners, rather than mixed up menus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StobKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great start, but not so good after”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently ate here on a Saturday night.
The ambiance of the restaurant is very nice - nicely spaced tables, lots of Italian decor items around, very open and feels comfortable and welcoming.
We ordered bruchetta, caesar salad and a pizza.
The bruchetta was OK - quite bland and presented on half of a soft white bun - nothing special about the presentation or flavor.
The Caesar was also OK - pleasant dressing, but maybe a bit too much so that some pieces of lettuce were soaked.
The pizza was a major disappointment. A thin pizza - the toppings were very thin. We ordered a vegetarian pizza - there was to be roasted peppers - each piece had one thin slice of a pepper. Also mushrooms and feta cheese - very sparse. The feta was in small cubes and there were maybe 3-4 pieces on a slice.
The pizza arrived cold, after a wait of over an hour - not like a steaming hot pizza with lots of toppings.
The general menu offers lots of choices - though only about 4 or 5 kinds of pizza.
The prices are not really high, but for the pizza we received, not a bargain.
Not sure whether we would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“West Edmonton's best family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Weve been regulars at Il Forno for years. The former owner told me once that his goal was to have a restaurant where the kids come come and eat pizza and mom and dad could have a nice dinner that didn't cost the earth. It is a popular spot every night and the quality and service never varies. A true favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruacharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was here recently for lunch and was disappointed. Firstly they do not fire up the pizza oven at lunchtime, so the wood fired pizza is not an option. Of the pasta dishes we had, all the pasta was overcooked and one of the dishes was far too oily. The room is comfortable and the service is fine, but the food was very ordinary and certainly overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PogoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible food, terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This place seemed ok when we walked in. Guy playing the harp, dining room had lots of commotion. Then we ordered our drinks and received them 20 minutes later after reminding our waitress. Should have taken my gut feeling and walked out. The overall service was lousy and the food was so bland. I really want to give this place another chance but at $20 an entree I'd rather spend that at Chiantis or Sicillian Pasta Kitchen with 100% confidence that I'm going to get an amazing meal with real service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a_dub80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing