We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Waste of Time!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fireside Restaurant
Ranked #1,719 of 2,439 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Vermilion
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Total Waste of Time!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We tried to eat here (two hours before an event at Rexall) and it was a total waste of time. We waited in the entry for a good 20 minutes for a table, thinking it wouldn't take long to be seated since there were many empty tables that just hadn't been cleaned. Wrong. The only person who cleaned tables was the same guy running the cash register and the bar, so he only did one every 10 minutes or so. When we finally got a table we waited at least another 20 minutes for a waitress to even show up, another 15 minutes for our water and orange juice, and after another 15 minutes with no food we got up and left. We saw others get up and leave without eating, and others who finally did get their food warning people in the waiting area to just leave or they would be there forever. The Fireside has been on the corner across the street from Rexall for as long as I can remember, and they have apparently made all the money they need to make because they didn't seem to care one bit about serving customers yesterday. Do them a favour - stop going there so they can just shut the doors and stay home already.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelsonlandandcattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    12
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina Sasktachewan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst calamari I have ever tasted.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

No wine list. Worst calamari I have ever tasted. Awful rock music screeching in the background. Expensive. Only one staff member serving, clearing tables, taking orders and looking after the bar. HOWEVER the pizza was good and saved the day. Sorry but unless you want expensive take out pizza we can not recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Worst food and service I have ever experienced. The cooks must be either newbies or just really bad at their job. It tastes like they took the food out of the package and popped it in the microwave. As for the service - or lack there of, if you wait around for that you are more likely to miss the first half of the game at Rexall. We will never ever waste our money in that dump again! Lesson learned.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank shamrock39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced very poor food”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The service was ok, but the food is not very good. The burger was flavorless and not quite done. Caesar salad ok, but came with soy bacon bits. Food is better at Rexhall place

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Served the purpose......”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Served the purpose which was to secure parking prior to an event at Rexall Place. We parked in a lot and walked1/2 block to the restaurant. We arrived 2 hours before the show, thank goodness as it was staring to fill already. We sat in the bar where the service was so-so, perhaps they were short staffed as it was very busy.The carpet was filthy, the chairs had worn, crushed cushions. We had a pizza which was very good, the calamari appetizer arrived cold. This restaurant serves the purpose of being there for an "alright" dinner and beverage before the event with just a quick walk to Rexall. I forgive the atmosphere and decor in favor of convenience and would do it again:)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Restaurant also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Fireside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing