We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value and quality Chinese restaurant in Edmonton”

Double Greeting Won Ton House
Ranked #163 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value and quality Chinese restaurant in Edmonton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Located in a redevelopment district just east of China town in downtown Edmonton, this unassuming restaurant has been serving what may be the finest Chinese food in all of Edmonton. The menu is long and includes great seafood, duck, meat and noodle dishes. It also serves many varieties of popular bubble teas. Amazingly it does this at prices similar to fast food outlets. This truly is the best for much less!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Come for the GREAT REAL Chinese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food is so GOOD and the portions are very large and cheap. The food here is REAL CHINESE food. Not the normal stuff that is served in most Canadian chinese restaurants so the menu will not look like what you are use to. But it is all so GOOD.

It is cash only so bring cash.

After you sit down the srever will bring you a pot of tea (no charge) the menus, an order pad and a pen. Here you order by the number# on the menu. Not all of the staff speak english but if needed they will get some one who speaks english to help you.

Please do not let the location fool you, the quality of the food is well worth over looking the location.

I have been coming here since 1987 and I always order #1 Wontons (Pork & Shrimp) and Noodles in Soup, with extra noodle.

I have never had a bad meal here, so give this little gem a try you will be very happy that you did. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the location or the decor fool you, this place has amazing food. From North American style Chinese food to Hong Kong comfort food you will find something delicious. I eat here regularly, at least once a week. This place has the best Chinese food in Edmonton hands down. FYI, cash only here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank a_dub80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Come for the excellent food and not the decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently had a business lunch here and found the food to be the same as 25 years ago, delicious! The décor isn't one to write home about, primarily greenish booths that can be a little tight for those with a belly. But I must say it looks better now than it did 25 years ago.

The menu has lots of items; soup, noodles, rice, and entrees and most under $10. They give you a pen and paper to write down your order and we ordered 2 items using the menu number. The black bean rice noodles came with lots of sauce and vegetables. My colleague ordered the seafood with vegetables which had shrimp, fried squid, and squid. Both of the dishes were good, but I liked the noodles better.

The prices are cheap, and our meal came to $20 with leftovers too! Come for the good food and don't expect much for service or atmosphere. Or you could also order take out if you don't want to eat it. They only take cash though but there's at ATM in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I always love the unexpected..those hidden away unassuming places that have something special to offer. Well Double Greeting Won Ton House in Edmonton, in the heart of the old China Town Area, is one of those special places. When I tire of the chique eateries that offer a beautiful ambiance and leave you feeling empty minutes after paying a hefty cheque...I go to this spot where food arrives by the heaping plate and has plenty of flavours for every taste bud. I love this spot...and so do friends that I bring with me. Provided they don't expect to be eating in a fine dining room. I personally love the Beef Chow Fan. I ask for it every time. I also love the Beef with Brocolli and the Chinese Long Donuts. There are so many menu items to choose from and I haven't found one I didn't like yet. This is a must try place in Edmonton.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Greeting Won Ton House also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Double Greeting Won Ton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing