We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small portions, overpriced, overcooked and tasteless”
Review of Billingsgate Lighthouse Cafe - CLOSED

Billingsgate Lighthouse Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen Alexandra
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“small portions, overpriced, overcooked and tasteless”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

find another resturant in Edmonton if you are looking for a seafood meal

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“outstanding fish and I don't even like fish”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I went to this restaurant for the first time last year and enjoyed it completely. The service was great, the food choice is amazing and fresh everyday. The fish was perfectly prepared and tasted so good. The restaurant is a little small and the wait for a table could be frustrating. Kind of hit or miss for a spot at a table. The little shop has a lot of things to look at and buy and the fish market has a lot of choices, even for people who don't like fish.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good prices, excellent seafood”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was surprised to find a restaurant attached to a seafood vendor. They do a nice job of offering a variety of seafood.

Helpful?
Thank Lawgigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do Not Waste Your Time”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our party of three arrived and sat in the restaurant at 1:30 p.m. Twenty five minutes later we
were still waiting for our lunch. The frustrating part was the lack of attention the only server on duty gave us while we waited. Two parties who had come in after us were served their food and well on their way to finishing. As we left - without even getting our food, my husband stopped by the counter to advise the server (waitress) we were leaving because we had been waiting 25 minutes. She lipped off to him that it had only been maybe 20 minutes and a look into the kitchen showed my salad just being started. We should have known better when we walked in and staff were non existent in the kitchen area and the fish servers in the market area all looked like they wanted to be somewhere else. Do not waste your time or your money! This is the very last time we will ever go near a Billingsgate. Too bad they have gone downhill.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below expectation”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Uninviting atmosphere, waiters without any hospitality knowledge, average food quality, boring menue

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billingsgate Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing