We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Waste Your Time”
Review of Billingsgate Lighthouse Cafe - CLOSED

Billingsgate Lighthouse Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Queen Alexandra
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do Not Waste Your Time”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our party of three arrived and sat in the restaurant at 1:30 p.m. Twenty five minutes later we
were still waiting for our lunch. The frustrating part was the lack of attention the only server on duty gave us while we waited. Two parties who had come in after us were served their food and well on their way to finishing. As we left - without even getting our food, my husband stopped by the counter to advise the server (waitress) we were leaving because we had been waiting 25 minutes. She lipped off to him that it had only been maybe 20 minutes and a look into the kitchen showed my salad just being started. We should have known better when we walked in and staff were non existent in the kitchen area and the fish servers in the market area all looked like they wanted to be somewhere else. Do not waste your time or your money! This is the very last time we will ever go near a Billingsgate. Too bad they have gone downhill.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below expectation”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Uninviting atmosphere, waiters without any hospitality knowledge, average food quality, boring menue

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good seafood, even in Landlocked Edmonton”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Was hungry for fish so my wife and I went to Billingsgate. We drive by it often, but have never stopped in. I had the jambalaya and my wife had blackend snapper. The snapper was well done, but the squash portion of the veggies was a little underdone. Taste was good though. My Jambalaya was very tasty with just enough hat from the sausage, The clams, mussels and shrimp were very good, the only negative was the rice. I think a real long grain or even a nice brown rice would be better than what was served with the jambalaya

Overall a decent meal, and the bill was reasonable too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Falling_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good fish restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

fresh fish good value and generally well prepared meals; buttery rich sauce on the fish and begetables tasty but not for somebody who has to watch their cholesterol;
recent change of chef with some loss of refinement byut the quality stays good

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hideko66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant and shop”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Visited this restaurant with friends recently and had a superb meal. The service was a bit slow due to being busy, but the food was worth waiting for. Would recommend it to any fish lover.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billingsgate Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing