We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, expensive, noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel, expensive, noisy.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

They have a very noisy hvac system located on the west side of hotel. The noise is high pitch and will keep you awake all night. I have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times and have pointed this out on their online surveys they email me. I have also mentioned this to the staff on my most recent stay. I asked for a manager to call me back in regard to this problem. I did not receive a response to from my request for a call back, Clearly nobody there cares. If you're looking for a good nights sleep at this hotel you may be out of luck. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Traveller5200,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise you have experienced and for the unsatisfactory service you received from our staff. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    94
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
65
28
9
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manning, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. Only about a 10 minute drive to ghetto West Edmonton Mall. There is a restaurant at the hotel and a Tim Hortons down the block. We will stay here again while shopping in Edmonton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blufforbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay. Bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Small problem with the hair dryer not working but that was minor. Quiet place to stay - didn't hear any outside noises from the hallway (but maybe we were lucky!). I didn't use the pool but I checked it out - it is your standard rectangular pool with a small hot tub - nothing fancy. Too deep for me to take my toddlers (no shallow end). The parking was absolutely atrocious both nights - not the hotel's fault (some people parked in multiple spots with trailers) but there is no one monitoring the parking lot (we asked after a truck and trailer took up 10 spaces!). Very close to WEM - not walking distance but a short drive. I'd recommend this hotel for the business traveler, adult couple, or a family who is just staying there to sleep (no fun extras in the pool for kids). The fast and free WiFi, location, and value are worth staying here vs right in the mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff was courteous and helpful. Wifi worked great. AC was good too. Not much more to wish for a business trip.

This hotel is close to the west edmonton mall and right next to a car rental company. The airport is quite far but theres a shuttle service that you can purchase.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raluene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice and Clean - AC worked real well on the hot days - quiet

Room Tip: Breakfast not included - whats up with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Keep it Beautiful
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nothing really special here -nice hotel, well located near the highway and my business district. Adequate restaurant for breakfast but that's about all. Lots of parking, and other eateries nearby as well as West Edmonton Mall a few miles to the south.Room was ready as promised, friendly courteous staff and easy checkkin and checkout.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yachti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days last week, and had a great experience. I had read the negative reviews before arriving, but I can honestly say that I couldn't find something to complain about if I tried! In fact, I laid in bed trying to think of something negative about the experience, and the only thing I could think of is that it was the street noise .... until I realized that I had forgotten my window open!

The rooms were honestly the cleanest I've been in (even compared with Four Seasons etc), the beds were lovely, the halls were very quiet, and the restaurant was great. I ate there every day for lunch. and had delicious meals and quick, friendly service. The girl at the front desk was sweet and very helpful, as well.

So impressed! Good job, HI Team!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StromsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
681 reviews
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton
Address: 11330 170 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2X1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Edmonton, Alberta Offers Full Service Located in western Edmonton, the Holiday Inn West Edmonton is the newest hotel in the area. Our location is convenient to businesses, attractions and Edmonton Municipal Airport (YXD), which is only 10 kilometers away. Corporate guests know our Edmonton hotel's location is near Finning Canada, the Royal Bank, ATB Financial and the Brick. The Shaw Convention Center is just 15 kilometers from our hotel in Edmonton. In addition, we offer free high-speed Internet access and three meeting rooms. The city of Edmonton offers leisure guests a variety of attractions. Within just a few minutes of our hotel in Edmonton you can visit the TELUS World of Science and the Art Gallery of Alberta. We're only 3 kms. from West Edmonton Mall with its 800 shops, a miniature golf course and the Galaxyland Amusement Park. Canada's largest living history museum, Fort Edmonton Park, is six kilometers away. Our new, smoke free hotel in Edmonton, Alberta has been designed to provide you with the best possible stay. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Chef's Grill & Bar. There's a lovely, indoor pool with a whirlpool waiting for you. Our new accommodations feature the indulgent 'Dream Royale' therapedic beds in our stylish new rooms. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of West Edmonton, you find relaxation and hospitality. Discover why we're the best of Edmonton's hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing