We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Kool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Kool”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice and Clean - AC worked real well on the hot days - quiet

Room Tip: Breakfast not included - whats up with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    94
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
65
28
9
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Keep it Beautiful
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nothing really special here -nice hotel, well located near the highway and my business district. Adequate restaurant for breakfast but that's about all. Lots of parking, and other eateries nearby as well as West Edmonton Mall a few miles to the south.Room was ready as promised, friendly courteous staff and easy checkkin and checkout.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yachti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days last week, and had a great experience. I had read the negative reviews before arriving, but I can honestly say that I couldn't find something to complain about if I tried! In fact, I laid in bed trying to think of something negative about the experience, and the only thing I could think of is that it was the street noise .... until I realized that I had forgotten my window open!

The rooms were honestly the cleanest I've been in (even compared with Four Seasons etc), the beds were lovely, the halls were very quiet, and the restaurant was great. I ate there every day for lunch. and had delicious meals and quick, friendly service. The girl at the front desk was sweet and very helpful, as well.

So impressed! Good job, HI Team!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StromsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times before, but these last 2 times have been disasterous.

First time, I booked a king room online. Arrive at the hotel, find out its a 2 queen room, eh no big deal just wanted somewhere to sleep for the night anyways. Next morning I go to checkout, and they tell me that my room has already been checked out and that it was part of the hockey teams block of rooms. Took them an hour to straighten up that mess, and the manager saw no issues with it.

This last time. I booked a King room online once again. Arrive at the hotel to find out its 2 queens again. I ask about this and they tell me that I messed up on the reservation, even though the confirmation that I had in my hand clearly states 1 king bed. Front desk doesnt even care about this.
Fast forward to 9:30 that night, all of a sudden I hear someone trying to get into my room as Im trying to fall asleep, then I hear them outside trying to figure out why it wont open, and I hear them mention my room number. They walk away and 5 minutes later with a new key, they manage to OPEN MY ROOMS DOOR. Thank god I had the bar across the door, or they woulda walked right into my room as Im laying in bed.
Phone down to the front desk, and they are confused as to whats happening, and they tell me they gave me the wrong room, as I was trying to explain that to them at check-in.
After all this, I crawl back into bed, start dosing off again, then the Front Desk PHONES me, DEMANDING that I come down and re-sign my room contract, because of their screw up at 10:15 at night. I explain to them Im sleeping, and will re-sign in the morning, but once again they DEMANDED that I come down right away.

No one at the front desk seemed to be too worried about these other people coming into my room, or their screw up, or making me re-sign some 2 bit piece of paper that I had ALREADY signed when I first got there.

NEVER staying there again, I would rather sleep in my truck then deal with these idiots one more time.

And to think, I thought this was a nice hotel, with decent rooms, but due to staff incompetence, sorry you just lost a loyal customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sofeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
sofeor,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Edmonton.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times since it opened, service has always been pretty good and rooms are always clean and in good shape.

The real disappointment here is the attached restaurant. I have tried it at least 4 times since I started staying here for breakfast, lunch and supper. I have yet to have a decent meal and my expectations are never high when eating at a restaurant attached to a holiday inn.

Poorly prepared eggs, tough steak and small portions all round for about the same cost as at an Earls etc.

Overall I like the hotel... But will not be trying the restaurant ever again.... Even after a long day... It's worth the drive to another place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyBCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed there 3 weeks for business. Located in the north end of 170th st which is an industrial area. You will not take a walk outside at night. But this location is ideal because you are between downtown Edmonton and only 5min away from the west Edmonton mall. Casino is also 5 min away. The gym room is ok so is the pool. I would recommand this hotel.

Food wise avoid the hotel restaurant terrible food and sloooow service. Take your car and 2min down 170th st you have tons of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stay at H-Inns right across North America and overall have been happy with the service at H-Inn hotels but this hotel has done something that has not happened to me in over 30 years of constant travel and hundreds of hotel nights. Because my hotel stays are, for the most part business, I use the prioity points when on a personal stay, but from this hotel, they charged me the points but also charged me for the stay. I have spent six hrs over 3 months and stopped at the hotel 3 times, with all my credit card info to show that they have not re-imbured me, as they say they have, and they told me to deal with it through MC myself and the hotel has no transaction receits to show they actually did re-imburse my card. Bottom line--they screw-up and I have to try and make it right, thats no sevice at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
677 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton
Address: 11330 170 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2X1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Edmonton, Alberta Offers Full Service Located in western Edmonton, the Holiday Inn West Edmonton is the newest hotel in the area. Our location is convenient to businesses, attractions and Edmonton Municipal Airport (YXD), which is only 10 kilometers away. Corporate guests know our Edmonton hotel's location is near Finning Canada, the Royal Bank, ATB Financial and the Brick. The Shaw Convention Center is just 15 kilometers from our hotel in Edmonton. In addition, we offer free high-speed Internet access and three meeting rooms. The city of Edmonton offers leisure guests a variety of attractions. Within just a few minutes of our hotel in Edmonton you can visit the TELUS World of Science and the Art Gallery of Alberta. We're only 3 kms. from West Edmonton Mall with its 800 shops, a miniature golf course and the Galaxyland Amusement Park. Canada's largest living history museum, Fort Edmonton Park, is six kilometers away. Our new, smoke free hotel in Edmonton, Alberta has been designed to provide you with the best possible stay. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Chef's Grill & Bar. There's a lovely, indoor pool with a whirlpool waiting for you. Our new accommodations feature the indulgent 'Dream Royale' therapedic beds in our stylish new rooms. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of West Edmonton, you find relaxation and hospitality. Discover why we're the best of Edmonton's hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites West Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing