We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Concierge lounge was spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Concierge lounge was spectacular”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have just completed a 3 night stay at this property, selected due to its shuttle service to the WEM and the fact that it was a Marriott of which I am a Gold Elite member. An upgrade was honoured at check in.....to one of the most beautiful suites I have ever stayed in. The room was not ready when I arrived at noon so I proceeded to my business and said I would be back at 4. They assured me my luggage would be in my room when I returned. Not only was my luggage in the room, but a card from the front desk clerk who checked me in and a welcome tray of goodies - thank you Jade!

The concierge lounge is one of the few that stays open on the weekends.....and offers a spectacular assortment of hearty meals/snacks. One night they offered mashed potatoes and roast chicken and the next night they offered roast beef and rice pilaff. Delicious. Of course the usual fruit and cheese selections, desserts, full bar and beverages, baskets of chip bags and energy bars........there was hardly a need to eat anywhere else! Breakfast offered scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage each morning I was there with all of the other continental breakfast offerings.

I was actually pleased to have this option as all other restaurants are located in the casino and surprisingly they allow smoking in the casino which was an invasion to my senses having been used to it being banned for so many years. The casino is......well........a casino.......so if you don't like that environment, you may want to stay away. It's loud on the weekends and draws a crowd from outside the hotel so restaurants were pretty busy (especially the seafood buffet).

But Marriott River Cree is a great hotel property. Staff are professional and friendly, the hotel is clean and well appointed and it offers a free shuttle to WEM ( though not directly to the doors - a bus stop across the road from the mall so I did not use this in the evenings). There is also an airport shuttle service that I only found out about as I was leaving. It is run through the airport and you need reservations at least 3 hours in advance but it is only $15 vs the $65 cab ride.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us the feed back regarding your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay especially the concierge lounge. Will definitely share your feedback with our team. Hoping to see you next time when you are in Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    149
    85
    29
    23
See reviews for
80
133
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The wife and I have been jonesing to go to Vegas for a while but timing and budget just don't allow it so we figured we'd give the River Cree a shot and see it approximated the experience at all. Well, it sure doesn't.

The hotel is nice and the price is reasonable for this class of hotel in the Edmonton area. The room was small but comfortable. The bed was a little soft for our liking though. The buffet was decent but didn't have much selection. The Tap 23 restaurant has good food but it took almost an hour to get our food (burger and sandwich...), though they apologized and took 20% off the bill for the wait. The service staff was all very friendly.

The casino is where this place really falls down. The table limits are astoundingly high for an Edmonton casino (really anything over $5 minimum in this town is outrageous), the slots are super tight and they only have a few penny slots most are $0.05 or up, and while it looks like they should have a good variety they really don't. Just banks for generic slots with a few nice/fancy ones tossed in. And lastly, this is the 21st century, why are you allowing smoking?!? As a non-smoker it was almost impossible to breath walking though there, as the only joint in town that allows smoking every smoker comes here, the air was shockingly thick with gross cigarette smoke. The wife and I lasted less than an hour in the casino before both our money and lung capacity ran out. Additionally the smell of smoke permeates the whole property, I even got a wiff of it up on the 8th floor. In short, the only thing this casino offers that the others in the city don't is a chance to get lung cancer.

It was an interesting experiment but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and maybe you can avoid the smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole U, Hotel Administrative Assistant at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back regarding your stay. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay fully due to the smoke and your casino experience.
We take great pride in growing and improving our services through our customer’s comments. As a team we are working on being more attentive to our customers in order to achieve excellent services and accommodations for all of our guests.
Regarding the smoke we are working to have a solution for this. Regards,
Nicole U.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed over for two nights just before New Year. We have stayed at the River Cree a few times in the past and were always satisfied. This time, it appears that things are slipping a little. The paint on the bathroom ceiling was peelin, not just a little but quite a bit and falling down. The heating system was moderately noisy and difficult to control( no happy medium, too hot or too cold). The surf and turf buffet was hamburger sized chunks of beef and shrimp skewers with cheap shrimp ring sized shrimp. The braekfast buffet was good but definitely fewer selections than before. Dinner at Taps was tv dinner style fish and chips and chicken. Staff were generally pleasant but did not go out of their way. When we reported that the alarm clock in the room next door was going off since 6 AM, it was met with indifference and not attended to. Would we return, maybe but.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa_uthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole U, Hotel Administrative Assistant at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back regarding your stay. We appreciate your feed back. I wanted to apologize for the state of your bathroom and the noisy air condition.
Please contact me directly at 780 930 2617 if you are staying with us again. I'll definitely share your feed back with our team. Thank you again & I hope to see hear from you.

Nicole U.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at he Cree Resort for a convention in November- the convention planners promised a better hotel experience compared to their usual spot in Edmonton that was closed for renovations. This is truly designed for gamblers. The hotel itself is ok but you have to walk through the casino to get to the "convention centre" which is a blow up tent like you see covering indoor tennis courts! They apparently are running it like this for 5 years to see if there is enough traffic to build a permanent convention centre! You have to walk through the "smokers zone" which is basically the entire casino area, then outside in the cold down this alley way to enter the bubble. Carpet is dirty and thrown down to cover up concrete. There are stacks of unused tables, furniture, bars, and kitchen equipment stored behind curtains all over the place. The stags is literally 8 feet off the ground you swear you are in a mosh pit. Do not have a convention there it is very embarrassing to have industry professional show up to a place like this!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back regarding the Venue . We appreciate your feed back. We are working on this project & are hoping to have an update soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Got home from a beautiful holiday in Cancun and when we returned we stayed at the River Cree Casino resort. Beautiful hotel with comfy beds. the perfect place to unwind and relax coming home from a a week of vaca. The staff where great check in was simple and nice. the kids enjoyed the pool and hotub. Still close to West Edmonton Mall and Costco across the street for any last minuts shopping.

Room Tip: All room are nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasa5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back regarding your stay . We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping to see you when you are in town next time. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just did a little playing the machines at River Cree tonite, we live in Edm.but had company from Sk. staying at the marriot there. Seems everything was nice & clean, lobby, ect. but there was so many Christmas parties going on this Sat. eve. which made for a very a noisy nite with too many people having a bit to much to drink..However the real down fall came when we went to "Taps" for supper. Seems everyone else's food was ok but the fish( in my fish & order) $17.00 pls tx. was so over done I could not eat it. I did not want to complain to the staff as we were there with other people, also the taramiso is not what I know it to be. I may dine there again but will certainly not have the fish again or that dessert.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with your dining experience. Please contact me directly at 780 930 2603 at your convenience. I'll definitely share your feed back with our culinary team. Thank you again for your feed back & hoping to see hear from you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Perfectly fine generic chain hotel with large clean rooms in an out of the way location. Its part of a casino complex so that's pretty much the only reason you'd want to stay here (other than an on-site conference) as its 30 minutes from the airport or downtown.

If you are stuck on-site and a non-smoker you're not going to have fun. The smoke from the gambling floor drifts throughout most of the common areas and especially the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterbitterpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back regarding your stay. We appreciate your feed back. I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the smoke smell. Hoping to see you sometime in future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is a top choice among hotels near West Edmonton Mall, the airport, and downtown Edmonton. Our Edmonton hotel's locations is ideal for business and leisure travellers, as it features meeting and conference rooms, a complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, an indoor pool, and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing