We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Downgraded to Upgraded and Wined and Dined: Yummy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“From Downgraded to Upgraded and Wined and Dined: Yummy”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

At check-in, our reserved room's king-size bed morphed into... twin doubles. A phone to front desk got "We don't have a king. Sorry". After trying to spread my 6'3" bod across the narrow bed, I talked to the concierge in person. Voila, miracles happened. Now there was a special room with king available, and in a 5 minutes we were moved.

Just 2 minutes later we saw a blood stain, small but unmistakable, on the duvet cover. Called front again: "What's a duvet?" "It's a comforter". "OK", and in 5 minutes we had a new cover, and in 10 more a complimentary bottle of Merlot and a tray of cheeses and fine crackers. Darn, the potential negatives were outscored by the positives. Here are the winners: creative and helpful concierge, wonderfully courteous and kind household supervisor, terrific compensatory wine and snacks, quiet, clean, and roomy room, terrific bed, talking spacious elevators, ice rink, pool, rec area, silent HVAC (really rare!), fashionable lobby, sparkling clean rooms and windows, too,and a vista from the windows of 180 degrees of nature, new homes, and the city 25 km. distant. Smoke fills the huge casino and all 5 restaurants. I've eaten at 3 of them before, and despite casino smokers' haze, meals were fine. The air in our room(s) was pristine. We'll return, but we'll double-check at the desk before taking the keys.

Room Tip: The upper floors (6-9) have terrific views Basic rooms are not as large, nor are the baths as roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. I/m sorry about any inconvenience you had regarding the room . I'm glad that they were able to find a king room for you. Hoping to see you in near future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    149
    86
    30
    23
See reviews for
80
136
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very friendly front desk staff, and helpful. The girl who checked me in was 'in training' and was a pro! The room itself is fine, nothing that stands out, so a comfortable hotel stay. Used the hot tub which was lovely. Casino is smokey, so wasn't a great spot for a conference to be held because you had no choice but to walk through smokey casino to get to the venue. I ate a few times at 'the kitchen' restaurant, fantastic service and staff, food was incredible one of the evenings and very good the next! Only thing is wish they had more salad options.
The hotel served its purpose, but if you are without a car, it's a long way to get to places like West Edmonton mall. (Oh, they do have a free shuttle, so if you are a planner, that's a bonus.) shuttle to the airport (40 min drive?) was $18. You need to book 3 hours ahead.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANDASTEWART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time respond regarding your stay on Trip Advisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay other than the location. I'm happy that you were able to take advantage of our free shuttle to West Edmonton Mall. Hoping to see you sometime in future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed at the River Cree a couple times now and had average stays both times - nothing really wowed me but then nothing disappointed me either. Both times I stayed was for a conference, so I had a reduced rate but not really that good of a deal.

Most recently, I stayed here in September 2013 for one night. Check in was easy. It was nice to check in a little early as the conference I was in started at lunchtime and I was able to check in shortly thereafter. When booking, I requested a king room with a city view; when I checked in, they put in me in a room on the third floor (with a view of the parking lot rather than the city). After asking for a room on a higher floor, the front desk clerk was able to put me on the seventh floor but facing the countryside, which was fine by me. They also gave me a room at the far end of the hotel pretty much opposite end of the elevator: so the pro is that it's a quiet room, but the con is it's a good walk to and from the elevator.

My room was adequate albeit a little small. I guess this should be no surprise as newer built hotels are made with smaller rooms. Otherwise, the room was clean and fresh with great mini toiletries (I absolutely love the orange-ginger aromatherapy line from Bath & Bodyworks). I had a great sleep in the king size bed with ample pillows (I was staying solo).

I didn't check out the fitness room or the pool, but I did eat at Tap 25 (sports bar in the casino) while i was there. I attempted to order some sliders off their 'Cruiser' menu, only to be told that was for their 55+ guests - it didn't say or I did not see that that was a special menu, but I was thoroughly embarrassed in front of my dinner companions when i was told that. I have also tried out the Kitchen Bistro which is a buffet many other times, and I gotta say it's pretty decent food for not too much money.

My only pet peeve is the smell of the cigarettes from the smoking section of the casino. The conference took place in the meeting rooms which were behind the lobby and check in desk which was down the hall from the casino with the smoking section on the far end. The cigarette smoke sure came a long way and was still strong enough for me to notice outside the meeting rooms. I think they need a better system of clearing that air before circulating it to the rest of the hotel.

All in all, the stay was decent and expected from a newer hotel. Price-wise, it was not bad, but not good either. I think for a fun night at the casino or watching one of the many shows in their multiple venues, this is a great place to stay, but for a conference...not so much.

Room Tip: The cityview rooms are nice on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond in Trip Advisor regarding your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience you had regarding the menu confusion.. We are working towards to finding a solution for the smoke . Meanwhile if you are coming back to the area please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great beds, Clean rooms, Friendly and super helpful staff, Starbucks in lobby, Good Food, a few minute drive to West Ed, lots of Free Parking, has celebrity live shows, you can watch rec hockey through the windows at the bar and has a Casino!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justyukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back regarding your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hoping to see you some time in future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I just spent two days at the Marriot River Cree Resort, the hotel is clean and comfortable, lots of free parking, located just a few miles away from West Edmonton Mall, the food served during the conference was excellent. On Friday night their restaurant serves a buffet sea food including crab legs, shrimp etc for $27.00, there is a great work out area with several tread mills three elliptical and 2 stationary bikes. there is a hot tub and swimming pool. There is free internet in the lobby but not in your room you have to pay another $15.95 a day. All in all a good stay for work or pleasure. There is a casino in the basement which they allow smoking you can smell the smoke in the lobby and the restaurant , something to consider if you don't like cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: rates are high $209 a night if government try to get the $159.00 a night rate. Higher rooms are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfamileaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back regarding your stay. Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay & meeting. Looking forward to welcome you back when you are in town next time.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for a one night stay. It's not too far from West Ed, but only real worth staying if on meetings or you are there to gamble. Rooms are very small, but clean. Room service food is pretty good.

Whole hotel smells a bit like smoke due to the casino which is a bit annoying. Parking can be atrocious if the casino is busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKYEG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feed back regarding your stay. Apologize for any inconvenience you had regarding the parking . Parking lots are busy especially on weekends . We do have additional parking on the south side of the building if the front parking is full. Thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you sometime in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great staff, great rooms. Though the property is great, it is a little remote from all the restaurants and other Edmonton sights, unless gambling is your thing. Staff are very friendly and acomodating, from the door man to the concierge lounge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryRockies2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Marriott, Manager at Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to give us feed back regarding your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hoping to see you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is a top choice among hotels near West Edmonton Mall, the airport, and downtown Edmonton. Our Edmonton hotel's locations is ideal for business and leisure travellers, as it features meeting and conference rooms, a complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, an indoor pool, and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing