We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

Nice Hotel, friendly staff, very clean. Hotel is overpriced though. It is no better than a new-ish Best Western. Internet access is way overpriced at $15.99 per day when the majority of Hotels offer this for free. Also, my family of five had breakfast downstairs which consisted of orange juice for all of us and coffee for my wife and myself. We had toast with one child having pancakes. Price..... $45.00!!
I would choose not to stay here again due to the fact that it try's to bill itself as upscale accomodations by, in my mind, overcharging for rooms, food, and other anemeties.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spaxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    147
    83
    29
    22
See reviews for
79
132
22
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

We contacted the property approximately one week before our departure to Edmonton for a quick getaway. We checked the rates online of the Marriott Edmonton at River Cree Resort and compared them to those of a different property, the Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, whom we have stayed with before and had an enjoyable experience. The only availability of the Marriott was a concierge room. We then called the hotel directly and a friendly associate gave us information on what concierge service includes. Regardless of the mixed reviews, we went ahead and booked the room for two nights in late March, 2008, for a rate of approximately $199.00 for Thursday, March 27, and $189.00 for Friday, March 28.
The location of the hotel is very convenient, however, we got lost. Please note that it is situated at the west end of Whitemud Trail; the street address of the hotel is simply a small road, that neither appeared on our GPS system nor online on Mapquest. It is a short drive from West Edmonton Mall, and since it is located near Whitemud, the entire city is easily accessible. The hotel provides transportation to West Edmonton Mall. As previous reviews mention, the hotel is set on an Indian Reservation.
Check-in was quick and friendly, with a bellboy assisting us with our luggage to the 9th floor. He pointed out where everything was located, and gave us a great first impression. The 9th floor is the concierge floor; the concierge lounge is located there, and there is a concierge assistant to help out with any questions - we found they offer great suggestions regarding Edmonton and how to navigate the roads. One night, the lady looking over the concierge gave us popcorn for while we watch our in-room movie; this shows how the staff will go out of their way just to ensure a pleasurable and memorable stay. The food offered in the concierge lounge included snacks, drinks [including soft drinks, water, tea, and coffee], breakfast, and dinner - selections were small, but very appealing and appetizing. It was like a Mexican all-inclusive in Edmonton!
The room décor is one of the highlights of the property, and is probably the best décor we have experienced with any hotel to date. Two large, comfortable double sized beds, a large armchair, workspace and office chair, flat-screen television, large mirrored closets, and a large bathroom with lovely Bath and Bodyworks amenities were included. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we requested a city-view upon booking our room, and the request was given, which is certainly worth it; the hotel gives outstanding views of Edmonton at night, through the room’s large windows.
The only complaint I have regarding the Marriott isn’t all too much of a complaint; a previous reviewer commented that the landscaping has much to be desired. The hotel has a wonderful opportunity to “play up” the property through planting trees or flowers, but it does not appear like they have taken that opportunity.
As for the casino, we did not have any trouble with smoke, even though the casino is right off the lobby.
The pool is a good size; large and well maintained, overlooking Edmonton. Additionally, the fitness room is great; personal televisions on each piece of equipment are a good touch [headphones are provided], as well as the chilled towels for after one is done their workout. The staff is very polite and friendly, especially the housekeeping. We requested more pillows, and they were delivered within three minutes. The hotel is completely spotless, and is very well maintained. The lobby is wonderful; trendy music playing with a small café and lots of seating; even the elevators are impressive!
Even though the rate was high, it was well worth it for the concierge service. We are aware that the regular rates are much cheaper, however, we feel that we got more than our money’s worth. I am a fan of Marriott and Marriott chain hotels, and this property certainly shows the superior service and amenities for a reasonable price that Marriott hotels offer. We highly recommend this delightful hotel, and will be staying at the Marriott Edmonton at River Cree Resort again upon return to Edmonton.

  • Liked — room decor, concierge service
  • Disliked — property could use additional landscaping
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylejaymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

This hotel is on an indian reservation, its not in Edmonton, when you get there, there is just a hotel and you are in the middle of nowhere.
There is a casino too, playing blackjack at this casino is annoying, they use 6 decks but the dealers cut the deck in half, and have to reshuffle constantly.

Helpful?
Thank SonnyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night only, found it to be very clean and new looking. The rooms were awesome, great beds and great big fluffy pillows. We wanted a hotel close to West Edmonton Mall and it was pefect, only 5 minute drive to the mall and lots of restraunts in the area. The pool was clean and the hot tub nice and hot...the work out room was awesome, very new equipment and everything in great condition. The casino was nice and clean and new. We requested a cot for one of our boys and that was brought to our room promptly and it was a great cot, very comfortable. The room had a nice large LG flat screen TV. This hotel was over a hundred dollars cheaper then the West Edmonton Mall Fantasyland hotel and the rooms were much nicer. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Great beds and pillows and very clean
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

We spent one night here and found the rooms very quite and comfortable. We stayed on the concierge level and this provided good value with a light evening meal and a nice breakfast. Chips and beverages were available all day. Although this is a nice hotel, I didn't find it to be very much like a resort. There is a casino and twin skating rinks, neither of which we visited and a very average hotel pool.

  • Liked — The beds were great
  • Disliked — Middle of nowhere location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGangAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

This hotel was very easy to find we drove from Calgary airport . Reception staff were more than helpful on arrival, room was great very clean comfy and quiet. We used the free shuttle to west Edmonton mall the next day. We had breakfast and evening meal in the hotel witch were all very good and the staff could't have been more helpful . We would definatly recomend this hotel, good value, modern and friendly. Family of 4 from England.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wilky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

We chose this hotel for our mini "babymoon" because we assumed that it would be a relatively "child free zone." We arranged for family members to look after our 2.5 year old so were disappointed to find out that we were surrounded by kids.

Beware that there is a large ice rink arena attached the resort. While we stayed here the hotel was crawling with kids and parents there for hockey tournaments. It was terribly noisy with kids screaming and carrying on throughout the hotel. People were drinking and carrying on in the hallways and the room walls are paper thin!

Hotel staff are very courteous and polite, but they did little to resolve the many noise/patron issues.

A good choice if you want to "party" but not so much for R and R.

  • Liked — Casino, location, convenience.
  • Disliked — Noise, clientele.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is close to the airport and downtown Edmonton. This Edmonton hotel features complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, indoor pool, and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing