We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a great resort so cool. The check in was a little disappointing the lady seemed quite rude but good thing I don't need anymore friends so whatever. The lounge was awesome and the staff was extremely friendly every where else. The sports lounge is unique with an ice arena attached. We were there for a concert and the venue was over the top. Thank you for an awesome weekend. The bartenders in the middle of the Casino where so friendly as well I can't say enough about this place. Also, a special thank you to Suki who was the ultimate host.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    148
    85
    29
    22
See reviews for
80
133
22
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was blizzarding upon arrival and it was dark out and we had a little trouble finding where to check in,but we were helped by a doorman at the arival destination and he was very friendly and informative.the smiling lady at the arrival desk was very pleasant and we were on our way up to our room in no time,after parking the car across the road.
we got in our room, a little small with a dresser,with tv on top,a king bed,settee and end tables and a tiny bathroom as in a super 8,and a miny fridge on the floor and got settled in and decided to stay in the room as it was getting late and watch tv,the wife had her Ipad and wanted to play her bingo game but could not get hooked up so she phoned down to get the password and it turns out you have to pay another $15.95 per day for this service,on top of the $189.95 plus taxes of $17.21,I said they had rocks in thier head so they gave us the first night free.
In the room there was coffee we could make one cup at a time, but was the worst swill I have had in recent history and the brand was Starbucks so we decided to go down for breakfast.
The room had a breakfast smorg promo (the online ad said $25.00 value but the menu sad $16.95 ,so in the morning we went down around 8:30 and did not have a big lineup se we ordered our beverages and went up to see what they had, some small cereal bowls of fruit and sparse cold cuts(3 choises)3 pieces of cheese per kind(3),kind of shriveled.
The hot food were browned potatoes and a corned beef hash, there was a chef making omlets,then back bacon in water,(yuk),crisp side bacon and sausage.
Back at the table we sat down to a slightly better cup of coffee,still starbucks,(I find Starbucks is over roasted and taste burned and bitter,I buy Nabob Columbian and has a pleasant smell and taste). We made our own toast.

The waiter was very attentive and came back several times to check on us and take away our plates. The food was very good.
In the evening we decided to checkout the Casino. My wife walked in and sat down at a slot machine, put in $20 and got back $132 first push,pretty good! We walked around a bit hoping for some music but there wasn't any,just lots of people smoking,we don't. So back to the room for more tv.
The second morning we had a better Idea of how every thing worked,except the coffee in the room,I experimented but could not get the coffee to taste better then swamp water,so back to the restraunt, and we got our food quicker and got to eat it while it was still all warm.
Check out went smooth ,had to dig the car out of a snowbank,snowed 4 inches that night,loaded up and headed for more shopping before heading home.

All in all it was an OK stay but not memerable so would likely stay somewhere else next time

Room Tip: there are no GOOD views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLENT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I were impressed with the hotel although the location was not very ideal as it was not centrally located. Nevertheless, we can rely on the excellent service provided by the front desk staff as well as friendly housekeeping staff who greeted us when we were getting to our room. Another Marriott dependability which we can count on is getting a very good sleep - the beds are very comfortable and same anywhere in the Marriott chain! Before staying in this hotel again we will try the downtown location first.

Room Tip: Call in ahead of time to request for a room away from the elevator shaft; the higher the room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecneret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have used this for business and also for personal celebrations. For a business event this hotel is amazing the service is outstanding. The food is great and the red coat extra service can not be beat. The service even as a evening out is fantastic. Crystal is our business contact and again I can not say enough about the attentiveness and concern that both the food and service is exceptional is maintained throughout the hotel. The rooms are good but with the casino attached and entertainment and three different eating places at least you do not have to leave. But if you want to the hotel provides a shuttle to west Edmonton mall. I would like to mention Denham provides excellent service as a red coat but also works at the sage restaurant. He is dedicated to providing exceptional service levels. For a night away from the kids or just to have a fun evening even if you live in town. This hotel is very good.

Room Tip: You can get a city view on one side and a country like view on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Marriott is a favourite hotel brand, and I was looking forward to staying at the hotel for a conference. Booking agent - excellent and helpful; Requests from front desk - terrific and friendly. Housekeeping - always welcoming and smiling. Banquets - yikes!! Surly staff! Marriott - your brand has an infection in this department!

One compliment I am pleased to offer in banquets is how the kitchen prepared beautiful, fresh and delicious alternatives for my dairy free meal requests; very pleased.

I also lost a cherished leather portfolio, but did not feel that the staff had a good common policy on how to handle lost and found. I was required to talk to three different departments (including the casino - which I appreciate is not part of the Marriott); sadly it was not found or returned.

This hotel does have a convenient complimentary shuttle to the West Edmonton Mall, but is quite a distance from the airport. I recommend the airport shuttle, as a cost-effective means of transportation.

Casino - for those that enjoy this pastime - seemed well pointed and much enjoyed by patrons.

As always - opportunities always abound, and I leave this review on a positive note - the bedrooms are spacious, clean and comfy - great sleep!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msfirefly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

All aspects of are stay were excellent. Helpfull and freindly staff throughout. Food was great, rooms clean and very comfortable beds.When we checked out there was a guest that barely spoke english and he was refusing to pay the tax on his bill. He was abnoxious and very loud, the staff member was incredibly patient and remained professional in a very difficult situation.
If you are visiting Edmonton it is a little out of the way but is a good value and great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for business. It's a bit away from city center, but very nice hotel and the rooms are spacious. It's connected to a casino, and the sports bar was nice and has a hockey rink so you can watch hockey practice. The nice restaurant in the casino, Sage, was a great meal and great wine. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is a top choice among hotels near West Edmonton Mall, the airport, and downtown Edmonton. Our Edmonton hotel's locations is ideal for business and leisure travellers, as it features meeting and conference rooms, a complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, an indoor pool, and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing