We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Is OK, Casino Awful and The Venue Is Even Worse” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Is OK, Casino Awful and The Venue Is Even Worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The 3 Rating is for the hotel which is fine. Reception is efficient and friendly. Rooms are comfortable. The downside is that the hotel is attached to the casino and the smoke smell at reception is fairly strong and that is a couple hundred feet away from hte casino. Rooms do not smell of smoke.

The casino air is worse than any bingo hall I've ever been in. Felt like I was near a forest fire. There must be no ventialtion. This would be fine with me but the everything is open to the casino : the restaurants, the bar, the hotel lobby.

Actually not everything is open to the casino. The "showroom" called The Venue is not open to the casino. It is not even attached to the main building. It is a tent and you have to go outside to get to it. Not a great thing when it is -20 degrees C. You also sit on folding chairs that are jammed together and have to buy drink tickets and then get drinks at protable "bars". Poor selection of drinks. In all a low class operation.

Bottom Line : Never going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tautripreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    147
    83
    29
    22
See reviews for
79
132
22
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Be well prepared to leave with a headache, earache, sore throat and if you have asthma, or any sensitivity to stale smelly stinky air - then do not book a holiday here. absolutely worst place to stay if you chose to stay healthy by NOT SMOKING. THE LOBBY IS BLUE, THE DINING AREA IS HORRIBLE. Smoke billows out from the casino and into the lobby and entrance, the elevators, into the coffee shop, and the dining area. you can smell it in the ballrooms, and conference area, you can't walk threw the casino without holding your breathe. if you have a smoke allergy or asthma BEWARE!! this is one horrible place to visit and think that you will enjoy a beer in the lounge, an evening of fine dining or a party. unless you can hold your breath for the whole night! I would not recommend this place to anyone that values their lungs or their health. very very dissappointing! Edmonton has so much more to offer than this!

Room Tip: For a Mariott Hotel this is very dissapointing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clinics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I were unable to get to Vegas this year but thought we would try a mini get away to River Cree for a night- go for dinner and try our hand a bit at the machines there. Rooms are not cheap for the size, no real view to speak of and they rarely have promotions that I have seen but I have to say, extremely clean and the previous reviews I read about cigarette smoke being an issue seemed to be totally unfounded.
However, we thought with the casino being connected to the hotel it would not be an issue bringing drinks to and from the casino, ala Vegas style - wrong! There is a very militant and somewhat unfriendly security post between the two and there are absolutely no coming to and from with a drink. Not a major deal but I thought it worth mentioning as I witnessed at least two other parties who appeared kind of ticked off they were being halted.
Otherwise we found the sports bar offered up great food and overall we had a wonderful time - just lacks some of the lustre of a casino hotel IF that might be why you are thinking of going.

Room Tip: Limited city views if you book a King - as explained by the front desk, most city room views are dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Positives:
-was able to check in early
-room was nice
-room was clean
-great place to stay if going to a show at the Venue.

Negatives:
-booked a king bed, but was given two double beds
-had to call front desk at 2:00am to complain about a party going on across the hall. To their credit they broke it up within a half hour.

Notes:
-had lunch at the Kitchen Buffet & Bistro, good service but bellow average food.
-had supper at Tap 25, good food and service, but over priced for a pub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riderrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have been staying in this hotel since last 5 months and I believe this is the friendliest hotel that I have ever come across in my 8 years of international travelling experience. Rooms are nice, beautiful views from the huge windows, excellent restaurants downstairs and great hospitality. Once when I was visiting Edmonton with my family for 2 weeks they not only gave us a complimentary upgrade but also made everyone feel very special! Excellent facilities - gym, swimming pool, conceirge services and most of all smiling and helpful staff on every corner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not the usual standard that we have come to expect from Marriott Hotels. There is an attached Casino and the cigarette smoke from the Casino drifts through to the Lobby area and the restaurant. Somewhat in the middle of nowhere although there is a shuttle to the West Edmonton Mall. The shuttle is not allowed on the actual mall property so you need to wait across the street for pick up and obviously cross the street when you arrive.

On the positive side staff at the front desk were friendly and very accomodating. Room was average size and clean.

Even though the hotel is only six years old - built in 2006 it looks worn and tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithP845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Definitely not up to Marriott standards. The hotel abuts the casino and I believe they share the same HVAC. so there's really no such thing as a non smoking room. Out in the middle of nowhere so no options for alternate dining.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is close to the airport and downtown Edmonton. This Edmonton hotel features complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, indoor pool, and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing