We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke, Smoke and More Smoke” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Smoke, Smoke and More Smoke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Definitely not up to Marriott standards. The hotel abuts the casino and I believe they share the same HVAC. so there's really no such thing as a non smoking room. Out in the middle of nowhere so no options for alternate dining.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    147
    83
    29
    22
See reviews for
79
132
22
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed overnight in this hotel last year and it was a great experience! Wanted to go back again this year. The room was super clean and tidy, has a very good night sleep. Highly recommended to anyone who will be staying overnight in Edmonton.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heaven1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

WoW! After a long drive, we were greeted by the doorman with a warm smile. He assisted with helping with our luggage along with assisting my husband from the car to his wheelchair. As you walk in, you are overwhelmed with a feeling of luxury and opulence. As we checked in the registration desk helped answering my many questions related to our reservation etc.

Later we received a neighborly follow up call from the front desk asking if we there were additional needs, how is the room, did you receive the extra towels requested etc. The attention to detail surprised me. From the daily housekeeping, hostess and waiters in the bistro to property security, we were always met with a warm smile. My husband fell ill one day, unable to accompany me to the morning meal, the bistro staff were concerned first asking was he ok, and then if they could fix a meal for me to take back to the room. The concern for each patron makes you feel like the entire hotel is your own "personal resort". Awesome staff!

This resort came with recommendation from a friend in Edmonton and this being our first visit, River Cree met all of our needs and surpassed my expectations! What a wonderful experience.

Thank you again. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasRN_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The lobby is very luxurious and welcoming with greetings as soon as you enter the drop-off in front of the hotel entrance. Service is excellent from all staff I interacted with. The rates are high but all accomodations in Alberta are over-priced. The only negative is the high internet charge ($16.95/day) when free WI-FI is offered evrywhere! The casino was well staffed and dealers were friendly for the most part. I was there for an evening business presentation/dinner and again the service and quality was very good. Small issues were dealt with quickly and efficiently and staff was easy to locate as requests arised during the events.

Room Tip: Quiet area well removed from any traffic or other noise so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncrawcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. Beds are clean and comfortable. The rooms were nice. I loved how the bathrooms were set up. And the food was veryverygood! Room service was fast. One of the nights we needed clean bedding as my2 year old son had a accident and they were very quick to come up and bring clean bedding and they even took the time to put everything back on the bed!
Every staff member here was very friendly and helpful. They want to please you here!!
There are no complaints what so ever.
Stay and make sure you try the key lime cheesecake or French toast:)

Room Tip: Ask for the east facing side. You can see the sun come up and see the parking lot from here;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our daughter and her boyfriend. The rooms are clean, and ours did not smell of smoke at all. I actually didn't find the smoke smell bad in the hotel or casino and I am not a smoker. Beds were comfy, and the bathroom clean. Front desk staff helpful. We enjoyed our time in the casino and shopping in West Edmonton Mall which was a ten minute drive away. The evening buffet at the hotel was fairly good and convenient, and drink prices were very fair. I would stay at this hotel again as it was 20 mins from the airport and convenient for when I visit my family in Edmonton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am a Platinum Marriott Reward member & stayed at the hotel on August 3rd for 3 nights.

It is hard to put your finger on exactly what is not right at this hotel but my recommendation is to only contemplate a stay there if you are visiting to use the casino facilities.

The hotel revolves FULLY aroung the casino to the exclusion of normal visitors / holidaymakers.

Ok, but just that.

Room Tip: Stay toward the front of the hotel - the rear facing rooms have noise intrusion from the chillers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is close to the airport and downtown Edmonton. This Edmonton hotel features complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, indoor pool, and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing