We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, clean, clean...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Joussard, Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, clean, clean...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We usually stay at either the Hilton or Hampton while the Marriott is usually our last choice as I have always felt the quality to be the same as the others but for a lot more money. This time we got a great deal via the inet so stayed there and were pleasantly reminded why the cost level is where it is. The room was immaculately cleaned (believe me- I am a neat freak to the extreme) and the service second to none. One note- I would request a room away from the elevators next time as it is more noisy at that location (understandably).
This is a review for the hotel only. The only restaurant we patronized was the Tap 25 sports bar and although it is a no smoking establishment, we came away smelling so much like smoke I needed a shower prior to retiring for bed. We are not big gamblers but the casino was so smoky we did not even try any games. We will definitely eat elsewhere (maybe the buffet or Sage at the resort) the next time we stay there.
Any questions, just email me.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor available (there are 9).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joussardines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    147
    83
    29
    22
See reviews for
79
132
22
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord,MA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

First a disclosure- my travel agent booked me here telling me that there was a shuttle to the airport. Wrong about that- there is a shuttle to some sort of Super Mall- the hotel is actually a good 30 minute drive from the airport- otherwise I would probably not have stayed here- but rather downtown.

That is not the property's fault...but mine (or my travel agent)! The hotel could have been plunked down from any one of Marriott's US properties. Well designed- better than average workout facility- prompt check in service- nice room clean and appointed in typical Marriott style. The wired internet connection did not seem to work and I relied on WIFI which at times was slow.

The health clun had three very nice Life Cycle ellipticals and three or four treadmills- a small (but adequate) universal gym, dumbells, floor mats and workout (medicine balls)>

I did not go into the casino that adjoins (not being a gambler I consider gambling & Lotteries a tax on stupidity)...so I cannot comment on that.

All in all a nice middle of the road Marriott-

Room Tip: BE sure to ask for a never been smoked in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I had a quick trip to Edmonton on business and booked this Marriott as a part of a package deal for our travel. Overall, this hotel has FAR more positives than negatives, and really was a fabulous experience. Should we travel to Edmonton again, we would not hesitate to stay here.

The rooms are clean, decently sized and have decent amenities - our King room had a flat screen tv, mini refrigerator, Bath and Body Works products in the restroom as well as other small details. A safe can be provided upon request.

As the hotel is connected to the casino, you are merely an elevator ride away from several dining options - a buffet (not your usual dirty buffet; this is a sit-down, inviting but modestly formal restaurant that is also the source for room service), the Sage (a formal restaurant with great ambiance), a sports bar and a Starbucks. The casino and hotel are both kept very clean and smooth-running; we never heard other guests when in our room.

Highlight to note: Incredible staff. Helpful, friendly, geniunely kind and quick to be of service. A+ on the staff.

Things to be aware of: Internet is $16.95 a night, which is a little ridiculous. However, there is free WiFi if down in the lobby, and a business center to use as well. Restaurant prices can run a little steep, but we thoroughly enjoyed the food and felt it was worth what we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple_Connoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I expected less as the hotel is connected to the casino, however I was wrong. From when I walked in for the first time to check in, until I left 3 days later, I found all the staff friendly and helpful no mater what the question or concern. The restaurants were very nice, the food was good, I even tried room service and was surprised at how good the service and meal was.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarrandLanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I used to stay at this hotel about a 5 days a month when I had business in Edmonton and always loved it. It my new position I no longer go to Edmonton every month, but instead to Toronto 2 weeks a month. The Edmonton River Cree is a night and day difference between any of the Marriotts Ive stayed at in Toronto (or across Canada for that matter). I was recently back at the River Cree and realized how much I missed the facility, the people, the excellent service and the attention to detail. Congrats to all of the staff, from the concierge lounge, to the front desk, to the cleaning staff - you continue to differentiate yourself from all others. Well done - Laudersmith

Room Tip: 9th Floor is the Top Floor & has the Concierge lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauder_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here for four nights on business. I was extremely impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and my room. The carpets, linens, walls, shower curtain, etc. were pristine. I noticed that other reviewers had commented on the smell of cigarette smoke in the hotel, but I could not smell anything until I entered the casino.

All of the meals served by the conference services were excellent; some of the best quality conference food I've ever had. I also ate once at the buffet, and once from the a la carte menu, and I thought the quality was quite good for the price.

I thought that the gym was very clean, modern and well equipped with cardio machines and free weights. The pool was on the smaller side, but also clean and big enough to do some laps if you're alone.

Probably one of the best perks is the free shuttle service that runs every half hour to West Edmonton Mall. This hotel is really in the middle of nowhere, so if you are here for several days, and not a gambler, you will be looking to get out... and the mall is really the only major attraction nearby. Parking is also free which is nice, as is wi-fi in the lobby. In-room wi-fi is around $15/day I believe, which I found a bit unreasonable. I did appreciate that they had a computer and printer in the lobby so that you can check-in and print your boarding pass before heading to the airport.

Overall, good hotel, good service, good food... but pretty isolated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable with lots of amenities. The hotel itself is attached to a casino, show room and ice skating facility. We went here for our staff Christmas party and had dinner, drinks and enjoyed the casino. For dinner we went to the buffet restaurant which I found a bit expensive for the level of food that was available. The restaurant was very busy and although the staff was pleasant, the service wasn't fabulous. I spoke to other patrons who had gone to the steak house and they gave it rave reviews.
The casino does allow smoking which bothered some of our party who are non smokers.
Overall, I found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is close to the airport and downtown Edmonton. This Edmonton hotel features complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, indoor pool, and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing