We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
Ranked #50 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Room for the Price”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

For the same price as the Rosslyn Inn at 97 and 137 avenue, the Holiday Inn Express at 50 and 137 avenue is the better choice. Due to a booking error on my part, after a 2 day stay at Holiday Inn Express I had to move to the Rosslyn Inn for another 2 day stay. The differences were amazing - from a big comfy bed to a hard bed, from a suite to a room, from new decor to old and from free use of a wonderful gym beside the Inn to a small gym room with older equipment inside the hotel and from free included breakfast to no breakfast. Internet speeds were about the same - medium to slow - given today's standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEYEGEN, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Howard M,

Thank you for your time in telling everyone about your stay with us. We are glad to know that you find our hotel and facilities satisfactory to your needs. We are committed to provide 100% guest satisfaction and we are happy to be able to make that experience for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Thank you very much.


Best regards,

Maribel L Halabi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
38
15
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night to catch the train to Jasper early next morning. Accommodation was very complete and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful - e.g. I asked for a taxi around 6:30 A.M., and it arrived precisely then. The free breakfast buffet looked adequate but I didn't have a chance to sample much of it (opens at 6:30 A.M.). There is no restaurant, but there's a good Swiss Chalet next door, and several more eateries down the street. One drawback: the hotel borders the railway, and there were trains passing constantly! But I will say that, from the 6th floor - even facing the tracks - the soundproofing was such that it did not disturb my sleep at all. Note: The location is not particularly convenient to the N. Edmonton VIARail station, as it's a 15-20 minute drive, or more in traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms in back face the railway, which is only about 150 feet away. But soundproofing is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScannerGFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEYEGEN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear ScannerGFlorida,

Thank you for your time in telling everyone about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you find your room clean and the staff are helpful to your needs. We strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction during your stay and that is our number one goal.

You may be glad to know that we are testing some soundproofs to install in our room windows to eliminate the noise from the train, this will avoid disturbance from someone who are light sleeper and we are excited to have this in place. The other side of the building which facing the front entrance where the rooms you will not hear the train noise.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.


Kind regards,

Maribel L Halabi
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night in March. The room was clean large and in good shape. A good hotel if you have a vehicle but a little out of the way. If you are going to Edmonton to visit the mall it is about a 30 min drive if traffic is light.
All in all it is a good hotel on the North East end of Edmonton.

Room Tip: Good gym on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GummyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
277 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights at this hotel in the course of my work. The check-in was pretty efficient and the room was clean and well appointed with a king size bed, sofa, flat screen tv, fridge, coffee making facilities and a microwave. The bathroom was clean with decent towels. The bed was comfortable and had good quality linen. The complimentary breakfast was reasonable and offered a varied selection of juices, hot drinks, cereals, sausage patties, egg and cheese omelette, toast, pancakes, etc. The major downfall is the railway line that runs through the night and only about 50m from the back of the hotel. If I have to come here again I will certainly be requesting a room at the front of the building.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hutch333id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Hutch333id,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness, the amenities and breakfast.

However, we’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 2pm, which of course was before check-in time. The front desk clerk was very apologetic about our room not being ready. Then she asked if we really needed 2 queen beds, or would a king + pull out be ok. That worked out great, as we had our 12 year old grandson with us. We were checked in immediately. The room was very spacious, extraordinarily clean, and very comfortable. Even tho the hotel was completely full the night we were there, it was very quiet. Thought the pool was a bit small, and a second elevator would have been most welcomed. We did not try the breakfast, but would definitely stay here again. Our experience was most pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 469debbiem469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night over the weekend and it was a good stay. The room was nice, they upgraded us to a room with a separate room as we have a baby. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast but they woman who was working it seemed to be way too busy to restock the fruit, milk etc.
The main downfall was that the temperature in the room was uncomfortably hot and seemed uncontrollable. We ended up putting the thermostat to full cold and opening the window. We also found the pool to be way too cold to enjoy. Other than that we enjoyed the stay, the front desk staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
272 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We got in late, but were accepted with a warm greeting. For being right off the highway, this location felt very secluded. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was better than the usual continental bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEYEGEN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear RDWNG1,

Thank you for your time to write a review about our hotel. We sincerely appreciate you telling everyone about your stay. Our Team is committed to provide a 100% guest satisfaction during your stay and I am glad our Font Office Team had made it right for you. Once again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to serve you again soon.

Respectfully yours,

Maribel L Halabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
#65 of 93 in Edmonton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
Address: 13742 50 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5A 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Edmonton North Hotel. We are located minutes from Rexall Place, Commonwealth Stadium, Northlands Agricom, Clareview Recreational Centre , shopping centers, and within walking distance to Clareview LRT station.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton North Hotel is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton North
North Edmonton Hotel
North Hotel Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing