We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always nice to see the history of your provincial building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alberta Legislature Building

Alberta Legislature Building
Ranked #4 of 181 things to do in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always nice to see the history of your provincial building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited the legislature for a tour on the May long weekend. It would have been nice to have seen the mace, but as it was a holiday and the house wasn't in session, I guess it was put away.

Our tour started promptly, but I was a bit annoyed that even 10 minutes in to it, and after we were up on the 2nd floor, they were still sending new people to join up with the group. It was a bit disruptive to those who were there on time, as well as to our guide. They should have waited for the next tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank K2013B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    196
    28
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unusual history to learn for historians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went at the invitation of the Premier whom my partner had met in Palm Springs on a previous stay there. Be sure to have time for a guided tour. Plenty of photo ops inside no flash is needed with a good digital camera
Expect to go down stairs in spots there are elevators too !
If you are there during legislative session see if you can get into the gallery as we did
Very interesting

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike71553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historical Edmonton building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wish I knew docent's name, she was extremely informative. I learned a lot not just about the Legislature Building but Canada's political parties,culture, history and more. Excellent teacher!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Must stop in Edmonton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great building with wonderful classic architecture uncommon to Alberta - visit on a tour if you can to learn about the quirks of the building like the 50+ year old hamburger in its library, the echoing water from the fountain, and the stories behind many of its portraits. If you can manage a visit in the summertime, hit the wade pools with your kids - in the winter, you can skate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Time-and-Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great photo location, but something is always under construction.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

As a photographer, we recently did a photo shoot here and found some great spots to take photos. The surrounding park is beautiful and spacious, and the building itself is awesome. Indoors is great to explore and learn- I highly recommend a tour if you have an interest in the province's political history. Unfortunately, the outside and sometimes inside are often under construction or maintainance, or closed for functions. This last time the entire dome was under construction, covered in scaffolding and such. We had to keep it out of all our shots. It was also expensive to park, and then quite a walk up to the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberta Legislature Building also viewed

 

Been to Alberta Legislature Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing