We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What the heck, they already included the tip!”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #43 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What the heck, they already included the tip!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a bitter taste in my mouth! These people think they should already include the tip in the bill, before I decide how much the tip should be, they call it service charge. And this service charge works out to 18% of my actual order!!! Then if you're not paying attention, when you go to pay your bill, they are more than happy to let you add your own tip over an above the service charge. So when paying by credit card machine, it will ask you, do you want to tip yes or no. I think these people are crazy, and for that reason alone I will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank richpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has a nice ambiance, was quite busy but didn't seem loud. Our waitress was Brianne; she was very attentive yet didn't seem to over-do it.

I had the hoisin short rib, not only was a beautiful work of art, it was also delicious!

I will definitely return sooner than later!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilfromRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have always been a fan of the cactus club. This was my first visit to the downtown location and I was not disappointed. We walked in to a warm and inviting atmosphere and were greeted with warm friendly smiles immediately. We had made lunch reservations and were shown to our table. The service was excellent as well as the food. I had the Cajun chicken fajita and it was perfect. I recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone at either Edmonton location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian-Keona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,211 reviews
702 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Guaranteed Excellent Food on Every Visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I can't say enough about Cactus Club. Each time I go the food is excellent. My friend's favourite dish is Rob's Hunter Chicken - she orders it with mashed potatoes. My favourite entree is the Soy Dijon Salmon - a wonderfully healthy dish. You can always count on excellent service as well. The salads are healthy portions and are great for lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went for dinner last night with my husband, daughter and son to celebrate a couple of birthdays. First of all, I just have to say the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant is really lovely. The staff are so friendly, and our waiter, Maxe, without a doubt, is the best server I have ever had. His charming personality and amazing service made our night really special. Thanks Maxe, and we hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again. The food was so delicious, beautifully presented, and very tasty. Also, a big thanks to the Manager for coming by to chat and for the birthday desserts on the house. What a nice touch! This is how a restaurant should be run, and I cannot say enough about the atmosphere, the service, and the food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will definitely come back. Thanks to all at Cactus Club Cafe for a terrific night.
Barb, John, Dan, and Kelsey

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing