We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Nova Yellowhead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the Chateau Nova because a friend was having her wedding there.

First off, weird place for a Hotel. While driving to the place, I thought "There can't be any Hotels out this way, it's an Industrial Area!" Sure enough, there was the hotel! Getting to the actual Hotel was hard to figure out. I needed to stop for directions at the gas station across the street (in full view of the hotel), because I couldn't figure out how to actually get there.

Hotel is nice, fancy. Room was large, spacious. Included a fridge, a microwave, and a full set of dishes. Bathroom did NOT include a bathtub, had a shower.
Staff was friendly.
No continental breakfast, but restaurant just off the lobby.
Convention room was nice (that's where the wedding was), large and spacious.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the back. The back is facing a Safeway shipping lot. I heard alot of Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriddy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
21
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a nice hotel. Poorly run and very unorganized. We have stayed here at ten different weekends, and every time we stay there is an issue. Will this is my last time, I guess they do not appreciate guest who come back on a regular intervals.
The last issue was when we checked in they did a pre auth on my card for $700.00. The second night of 5 nights we ordered some food from the restaurant and charged it to our room. They delivered our food to the room and few minutes later the restaurant called back and said that the front desk would not let the charge go thru. I went down and deal with restaurant bill. Told front desk that I was checking out the next morning. Booked a room with Executive Royal Inn. Checked in next day with only $100.00 charge and asked if they would be a problem with getting room service with only that little. Was told there would be no problem, next time I am in Edmonton I will be not staying at Nova Inn. VERY POORLY MANAGED

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinceDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hills, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Not happy with the service. Provided a waiver for my pet and when I questioned the staff, they did not have any of the items available that was listed on the sheet. They were not aware of where the designated dog area was, as listed on the sheet and instead of admitting they didn't know they gave me the wrong information. When the manager later followed up on my concerns, I was told, "oops" that was on old sheet that you were given". When I took my dog out in the morning, there was a person sleeping under a tree at the back. Out of the 3 staff I spoke with, no one had been employed there longer than 4 months. The hotel has been open over a year, so it appears that they may have a high turnover of staff. The hotel is on the corner of two busy highways and backs to the safeway truck parking area and was therefore Very Noisy" There is no breakfast included. If you want the best value I would recommend the Best Western Plus in St Albert

Room Tip: Best Western Plus in St. Albert
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at the Chateau Nova in Edmonton for the first time. Ideally located on the north side of the city just off the Yellowhead Highway 16. Right when you first enter the lobby area you find yourself in a spaceous lobby area. The rooms were also quite large and are equipped with a fridge, microwave, dishes and utensils. Excellent for a family stay. The rooms were very clean and the beds ezxtremely comfortable. Definitely a hotel that we would go back to!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertindg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Working in Edmonton on a regular basis, this hotel is the one of choice. The room is great with new furniture and kitchenette cabinet which comes with a microwave and fridge. The best part of the room is the comfortable bed with awesome pillows. The fitness facility could use a bit more equipment.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room you want the back side of the building on the north end. (even number ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova Yellowhead, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank-you for your review of our property.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I would love the opportunity to speak to you about the fitness room and the components you would like to see added to it. If you are able to contact me in regards to this that would be great, as we are always looking to improve our guests stays with us!
Thanks again. Mindy Smythe, p: 587-336-9531
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.) half used upon arrival!! Had to call front desk for fresh ones!! (What else didn't they clean?!?!) Fitness centre had used towels piled on the floor, and inside/outside the steam room. Staff were VERY aware as I saw a few of them coming into the fitness centre to use the restroom. No sanitizing spray to clean fitness equipment. Some of the weight lifting equipment was in in disrepair.

On a different note - the bed was insanely comfortable!! If you can sleep through the beeping if the Safeway trucks backing into their depot.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LKinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova Yellowhead, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank-you for your feedback.
We would like to assure you that all items you noted have been thouroughly addressed.
And we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful beds.
Thank-you again. Mindy Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you are sensitive to traffic noise, then this isn't the place for you. However, if you appreciate having a spacious lobby (with fireplace), wide hallways and lounge areas by the elevators--then the Nova Edmonton is great. Only stayed one night, so didn't have time to check out all the historical photos along the hallways--I'm a history buff, so it was great to see some of Edmonton's history. Kudos to the front desk staff--they were excellent and accommodating. Lots of parking. I didn't try the restaurant but my sister enjoyed the breakfast buffet ($12.99).

Room Tip: South facing rooms will be noisier than north. Great city views on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katydidit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova Yellowhead, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank-you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy not only our comfort and service but also our joy in bringing the local history to our guests.
We wish you all the best in future travels and hope to welcome you back again.
Sincerely - Mindy Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau Nova Kingsway
Chateau Nova Kingsway
#54 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yellowhead Inn
Yellowhead Inn
#32 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton West Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
4.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites West Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Nova Yellowhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Nova Yellowhead

Property: Chateau Nova Yellowhead
Address: 13920 Yellowhead Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5L 3C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Nova Yellowhead 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the St. Albert Trail and Yellowhead Trail intersection, the Chateau Nova Yellowhead is an award winning, full service hotel that offers all the comforts of home, with close proximity to Edmonton's west end and downtown core. The moment you step into the warm atmosphere of our lobby, you know you're going to be taken good care of. Our friendly staff will welcome you with a smile and get you checked in quickly so you can begin to unwind. Enjoy our great amenities from our Bonaventure Restaurant & Lounge to our fitness centre and steam room as you enjoy our comfortable rooms and suites. Our hotel offers you everything you need to enjoy your time while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Nova Yellowhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Nova Yellowhead Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing