We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class”

Art Gallery of Alberta
Ranked #24 of 182 things to do in Edmonton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Art Gallery of Alberta is a centre of excellence for the visual arts in Western Canada, connecting people, art and ideas. The AGA is focused on the development and presentation of original exhibitions of contemporary and historical art from Alberta, Canada and around the world. The AGA also offers a full-range of art education and public programs.
Jasper, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“World class”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

As an artist I find the AGA to have a perfect venue for enjoying the outstanding collection and travelling exhibits. The space falls away and you are left to enjoy the art. I'll be back for sure

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    84
    46
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great gallery!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lots of friendly, enthusiastic staff keen to chat about the exhibitions - highly recommend!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank katyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Step inside an Escher drawing”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I love the architecture of this building - for that alone it is worth a visit. But my visit also coincided with several amazing exhibits, including a collection of drawings by the Dutch artist M.C. Escher. If you are familiar with his mathematical explorations of "impossible" constructions then you would further appreciate that stepping inside this gallery is like stepping into one of his drawings!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank kayjayskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely Gallery”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

What a beautiful building. It puts you in the mood to view the art inside. Interesting displays and we had a good guide to walk us through some of the exhibits.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ansley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see.”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Art Gallery of Alberta was remarkable. Our family thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband, who needs more culture in his life, truly enjoyed the information that was abundant in this establishment. The staff that walked around each exhibit was very approachable and extremely knowledgeable. If it weren’t for the 2 small children I took with me to the Art Gallery, I could have stayed there all day.
Our family will definitely frequent this establishment. I highly recommend experiencing this at least once in your lifetime!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank shetrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Gallery of Alberta also viewed

 

Been to Art Gallery of Alberta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing