We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tornado Tears”
Review of Hotel Selkirk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Selkirk
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Tornado Tears”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I swear this is true! We were booked into the Selkirk for one night and arrived during torrential rain only to find the hotel, located in Historic Fort Edmonton Park, completely deserted but with all offices, bars, kitchens etc open and accessible as we found whilst trying to find someone to deal with us. The Park outside seemed equally deserted. We sat in the lobby until, eventually, a workman appeared and told us that there had been a tornado warning for this part of Edmonton and that everyone had been evacuated to safety! There was no indication from the hotel as to what had happened, nor any instructions for arriving guests - what were we to do? After about an hour sitting in the lobby on tenterhooks waiting for all hell to break loose and having worked out the safest place to shelter if it did (I reckon near the lift shaft, if your ever in this situation) the staff eventually returned and seemed surprised to see us. They were hosting a corporate event that evening and were not expecting any individual bookings - they had no room for us! They blamed out booking agent, who were subsequently were able to prove that the hotel had accepted and confirmed our booking. After much discussion and running around they did eventually find us a room. It is impossible to give an objective view of the hotel's facilities etc after this dismal experience but one positive aspect of our stay was that we were subsequently able to roam the closed Historic Park at our leisure.

Room Tip: Make sure there isn't a tornado warning in effect when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzzette M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to Fort Edmonton Park. You certainly arrived at a very inauspicious moment.
It is only on very rare circumstances that we are required to evacuate all occupants of the Park into safe shelter – in this case the basements of our historic buildings. Although most of our staff is very well trained in emergency response procedures, it is clear that our Hotel staff was not up to speed.
It is unacceptable that you should have to wait out the storm without any assistance or instruction on emergency procedures. It is our practice to conduct a full review of such incidents in order to improve our performance.
Your feedback will be shared with staff to ensure this type of situation does not occur again. The fact that following your ordeal, you were inconvenienced with respect to your accommodation is simply dreadful. If you were so inclined to contact us to discuss the matter further, we would be very much obliged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    5
    11
    1
See reviews for
21
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our 2nd year attending the mothers day brunch at the hotel Selkirk. Last year the service was great, atmosphere quaint and not super busy and most importantly the food was fresh, hot and tastey. I have to say I am so disappointed this time round. Our seating time was at 9am. Things didnt start off that great as there weren't enough plates so we had to ask the servers to bring out more. The replacement of the food was slow and didn't come out in a timely manner. For example, there was a line up waiting for the plate of Eggs Benedict to come out and it was depleted within a couple of minutes. The roast beef, chicken and salmon was dry and over cooked. To end the meal, the dessert selection was completely picked through by the time I could get to it. There was only 1 slice of apple pie left, a handful of mouse, and the chocolate fountain fruits were slim pickings. It seem as though they only had a budgeted amount of food for each seating and werent willing to bring out fresh plates to ensure all of the guests were able to sample the food. This experience will definitely make me rethink returning to this establishment again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongski79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great 1920s style hotel. Clean, comfortable, and right in the park itself, which is great. The restaurant is very good if a little pricey. The fact it's 1920s means there's not TV in the room, which is fine, the universe doesn't fold in on itself if I don't watch TV for a few nights - but it does feel slightly odd. The furniture is beautiful, as is the detail, and the bathroom is clean. The lobby is beautifully done and really feels authentic, even if it isn't.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocean76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to bring in the New Year doing something different and we certainly experienced that at this Hotel. The food was exceptional and worth the wait. The room was simply decorated and comfortable. We were kept entertained with some just for fun gambling, a movie and fire works to bring in the New Year! We both enjoyed our stay and look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently purchased tickets for October 19th Poof! the Musical Dinner and Buffet. This purchase was a birthday treat for one of my very good friends and we were both very much looking forward to this event.

We arrived a little after 6:30 and were warmly greeted by your host. We were seated right at the entrance to the dining room, not the best table because of all the traffic travelling to and from the buffet but I understand that we were almost the last to arrive. I am not sure if seating is first come first served or assigned but this table left a lot to be desired. Not recommended for those hoping for some privacy.

After getting settled and meeting our lovely waitress we headed straight to the buffet. We decided to start with salad and go back for our ‘main course’. When we headed back to the buffet we found that there was pretty much nothing left to choose from. There was ½ a chicken breast, a spoonful of rice, a few baby potatoes and a little cauliflower left from the vegetable medley. To say we were confused and disappointed is an understatement. We did speak with the host and she indicated how sorry she was but she thought that everyone had eaten! She did instruct the kitchen to send out more food. We were not the only ones waiting for food.

I have no complaints about the food itself (after it arrived), my friend said the salmon dish was one of the best she had tasted.

I cannot fault the staff who were top notch and the venue is beautiful. The Capitol Theatre and the show was all that we had hoped for. I did send an e-mail to those in charge at the Hotel Selkirk to let them know of our disappointment in regards to the buffet. I received a follow up
e-mail indicating someone wished to discuss this further....after almost 3 weeks of waiting I have given up. I will probably not return to the Hotel Selkirk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishlass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a reservation for 5 people for the famous Thanksgiving lunch at the Hotel restaurant, showed up for 1pm and were told that there was no record of the reservation and that there were no tables available. As we had no breakfast to accommodate for the feast, collective blood-sugar levels were low enough to worsen the situation.

Fortunately, the lovely manager offered us a table at their 5pm seating (which when we arrived was clearly set up specifically for us as the place was fully booked). An envelope on the table contained a $50 gift certificate and we were given two complimentary bottles of wine with the meal. The food itself was exquisite, our server Christopher was excellent, and the room has a beautiful atmosphere to it. The manager was courteous and understanding, and did everything she could to make the evening wonderful. Highly recommended.

The only possible critique would be that it's not clear how to get to the restaurant as you must take a small side-road that isn't clearly marked. (the sign is quite small). Not really a huge deal, but we did suggest that they mention how to access the restaurant; especially when reservations are made for out-of-towners.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Hotel Selkirk is located on the side of the Fort Edmonton historical park in the river valley of Edmonton. I've visited Fort Edmonton many times with family and to attend functions in different buildings. My husband and I were looking for a nice night away without the cost of travelling outside the city, and we heard the Hotel Selkirk was accepting regular hotel guests. Being able to walk the grounds of Fort Edmonton on a warm evening was magical. We stayed on a Tuesday, so it was very quiet and we could hear some of the wildlife in the river valley; there is also a nice little park and fountain right across from the Hotel. The room itself was well appointed and clean, but sparse, true to the 1920's era it is supposed to reflect. The temperature was right, although I would have preferred being able to open a window. The night clerk wasn't at the desk when we arrived, but she showed up a minute or so after we rang the bell. She, and the other staff, were professional and friendly. We also enjoyed visiting the park the next day. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a one night getaway that's a little different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mctet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
4.4 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
340 reviews
4.0 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,614 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,426 reviews
7.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
3.3 mi away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selkirk

Property: Hotel Selkirk
Address: 1920 Street | Fort Edmonton Park, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 4P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Selkirk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Selkirk is located in Fort Edmonton Park and is a reconstruction of an 1920's hotel that was originally located on Jasper Avenue. Hotel Selkirk plays a vital part of the Park and is a fully functioning modern hotel with guest rooms available from May 20th - September 2012. All guest rooms have WiFi, En-Suite, desk, coffee machine and some rooms overlooking the 1920's streets.A complimentary admission to Fort Edmonton Park is included with your night's accommodation. You can go back in time and ride the stream train, walk amongst the local villagers making bannock, sample fresh baked goods and fudge at the Jasper House Bakery, from only a few steps from your hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Selkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selkirk Hotel Edmonton
Hotel Selkirk Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing