We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great West-End Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great West-End Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early March, 2013 & found the place to suit our needs. It's in a great location & our room was on the 6th floor away from the busy road so noise wasn't a problem. I was going to mention my wife thought the bed was hard(it was fine for me) but reading other reviews it seems the bed was adjustable. They should tell their customers about this kind of thing since reading the responses from management is the first I heard about it. I don't think I missed the brochure on the bedside table & it wasn't mentioned at check-in.
One thing I will say I didn't like was the pillows. They were way to soft for me but that's just a personal preference thing since my wife thought they were great for her. Maybe I could have tried to get firmer pillows for myself on the second night but never thought of it until 11 PM that night. Oh well, wasn't a deal breaker for me.
Bathroom was a little cramped but still did the job & enjoyed the shower & cleanliness of the room & the bathroom in particular. Free in-room internet(I'm Hilton Gold) was also a plus since I had some work to do from the room. Also had a good breakfast in the on-site restaurant & was impressed with the service especially considering there was obviously a soccer tournament somewhere close & the place was super busy.
My only advice to management would be to make a better effort to inform the guest of the adjustable beds since this would probably alleviate some complaints & try to have at least one firmer pillow, out of the 4 provided, in each room if possible. I may to have to stay here in the future just so I can check out the adjustable beds.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: High even numbered rooms keep you away from traffic noise on a very busy road in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of us, It is unfortunate that we did not share the story of our GSS or Garden Sleep System bed with you. I will naturally pass your comments on to our Front Office Team. Once again thank you for reviewing and staying with us.

Your in Hospitality,

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    247
    67
    12
    9
See reviews for
233
173
36
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

our stay on feb 15 was my worst sleep ever room was so hot we couldnt sleep they dont have air conditioning on in the winter it would not cool down it started at 25 degrees aft calling frt desk at 2 in the mornining they brought me a small fan other problem window would only open 2 inches so by morning it was 23 degrees still to hot manager advised me that thet dont have air conditioning avaiable in the winter i can not believe this i have stayed in alot worse hotels and they have air avaiable in the winter to cool off rooms we stayed that night for free only good thing about my stay there

Room Tip: ask if there air conditioning works in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear of your challenges with us on your recent stay. I am aware of the challenge with your room and maintenance has since repaired this unit. Unfortunately that did not assist you on your trip. I am glad to see that our satisfaction promise was delivered.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying two nights at this hotel when I took my 2 kids to the West Edmonton Mall to enjoy the Waterpark and the many other attractions. From a location perspective, this hotel is great - it's super close to the mall and easy to get back and forth.
The hotel has plenty of free parking in and around the hotel and check-in was a breeze. All staff we encountered were super friendly and seemed genuinely happy to see us and help us any way they could. Our room had 2 queen beds as requested and both the room and bathroom were very clean. Housekeeping service was great and they did a nice job in making up the kids' bed and placing their stuffed animals on the pillows. I did not use the restaurant but did use the pool and business centre. The business centre is great (and free to use, as is the wi-fi). The pool was also great, but I have to say the lighting, when sitting in the hot-tub is incredibly bright/white. It had a very clinical feeling to it and I think they could use with a bit more softer lighting - just my opinion. Nothing to take away from the overall satisfaction score, though.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They have adjustable beds (mattresses). Be sure to inquire about them if you're not familiar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_BCTall_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Victoria Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your comments with others. Your comments regarding the pool lighting made me take a stroll down there again and I agree with you. Again thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for staying with us.

Cheers!


Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am here for 4 days of business. Quiet, clean and so comfortable. The staff at check in, restaurants and room service (it is Valentine's day) are so welcoming, polite and efficient. No disappointment and a welcome break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaG011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your kinds words and recommendation. We strive to make each and every guest feel at home when they stay with us.

Cheers!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We always stay at the Hilton Garden Inn when we travel to Edmonton. The rooms are modern, very clean, and spacious. Staff is always very helpful and friendly, and checking in or out is always fast (and there are usually cookies at the front desk!). We used the pool area this time, and the whirpool was great.
The brunch at the Hilton is awesome.
The location of the hotel is perfect for us, it is very close to West Edmonton Mall for me, and close to Cabella's for my Husband.

Room Tip: Ask for the adjustable beds (this might only be an option for king size, I'm not sure), they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madeforthesunAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Want to thank you for staying with us and providing such a nice review, we appreciate your support. Our Garden Sleep System or adjustable bed is available in Queen/Queen and King rooms on floors 4. 5 & 6. They offer you the ability to set your own comfort level, provided that you know what that is, I must admit I am still finding my setting.....Thanks again for staying with us.

Cheers!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Good location if you're wanting to go to west edmonton mall. We didn't have very good sleeps since the beds were so hard. It is just an average hotel and it could be much better if they put a quality mattress in their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blufforbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your response and wish to apologize that my team did perhaps not explain our Garden System Bed to you. Our mattress is fully adjustable to your requirements, it can be set to various preference settings. I trust that had we informed you better you would have had a very comfortable sleep.

Cheers!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lundbreck, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

All of the staff are friendly and do a great job. Breakfast is very good and service is awesome. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Housekeeping is very helpful and quiet in the hallways. I have stayed here three times and will stay again for sure. Easy to get to and great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of us, we appreciate that you have chosen to stay with us when visiting Edmonton. I will share your comments with my team.

Cheers!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#3 of 95 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17610 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is 20 minutes away from Downtown Edmonton and only 5 minutes away from the West Edmonton Mall. It is located on 178th Street and Stony Plain Road. This vibrant hotel offers 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms, popular recreational facilities such as heated swimming pool and hot tub, reasonably priced casual dining service in the Garden Grille & Bar and newly openend Backyard Lounge & Patio, free Wi-Fi and local phone calls, only to list a few. The Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is sure to cater to your needs whether it for business or a nice getaway, "We Speak Success!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing