We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, great staff but smell of the cleaners was over powering!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, great staff but smell of the cleaners was over powering!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2007

The plus: The rooms are nice, decent size, and the beds are comfortable. The staff are polite and easy to talk to. When you are in your room you don't hear a sound. There is also a window that you can open let in some fresh air. The supper special at the hotel restaurant ant was very nice but I thought a bit pricy at $18.00 each and that didn't include coffee. Coming down the hallway to your room there is a very strong lemony odor that is like a thick cloud hanging in the air. I think that it is supposed to make the hotel smell clean,
but they really over do it!! When we opened the door to our room, it was even stronger and started to give us a head ache. We found the window that opens and opened it wide. The room was also too warm so the window helped with that also even though it took several hours both to cool off and to clear the smell out. I had an omelet at the the buffet breakfast but it was overcooked which made it dried out, same for the sausages. We went shopping for the day and when we returned the smell was back strong as ever. We learned from the first time and opened the window wide right away so we could sleep at night.
Won't be back unless conditions change.

  • Liked — Nice quiet room, great location. You can have a drink in front of the fireplace and relax.
  • Disliked — Odor of cleaners or deodorizers is very strong. Gave us both headaches!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    256
    70
    13
    9
See reviews for
246
185
38
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

Outstanding customer service, especially in the Restaurant. These people are passionate about there job and it shows. Hotel was very clean, great facilities but what really shines here are the staff, specifically in the restaurant ! I highly recommend this property , it was truly a wonderfull experience just to see how the staff interacted with the customers.

D Pettinger
Tofino BC

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank pacsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed three nights and were very pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. It was about a five minute drive to the West Edmonton Mall and within walking distance of some box stores and fast food outlets. By booking early and prepaying, we received a very good rate. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank jiopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleyview, alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Stayed here with our 3 children we were put on the 4th floor. We all put our bathing suits on and hopped in elevator to head to pool. The doors closed and we were stuck! The elevator started to bounce and we were in there for over an hour! we called front desk and told them right away that we were stuck in the elevator and they disconnected twice and then the third time said oh okay we will send someone to look at it. (Like, no rush) I have to say though I felt most sorry for the man stuck in there with my 3 small scared children and all our pool inflatables! Finally the elevator bounced down two floors and the doors opened while we were on our way down to another floor but we got out. The manager met us at the main floor after we took the stairs and all he said was. Oh sorry bout that can I pack some pool toys for you? (to the pool which was now 10 feet away) Then for the next 3 days that we were there we had to walk (and pack children)4 stories to our room. This had to be the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryllynngordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

This hotel is by far the best place to stay. I have stayed there numerous time and every time the service is amazing. Which goes along way in this busy province. I would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank traveljunky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

We tried the Hilton Garden Inn after seeing its high ratings on Trip Advisor. WOW!

Absolutely all you could ask for. Their rates are actually more reasonable than I expected. Even if you have to pay an extra 20 dollars, if you appreciate a nice clean hotel room - I promise you won't be disappointed. We have nothing negative to say - whatsoever! We will be staying there again!

  • Liked — Absolutely Clean!
  • Disliked — Honestly... nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dmorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in West Edmonton in early May while on business. We had an above average experience with the hotel considering the length of stay that we had (6 nights).

On the postive side, the Hilton Garden Inn is a "newer" hotel and therefore doesn't look worn. The room, lobby and pool/gym were all very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Parking was ample and free. You are also very close to West Edmonton Mall and lots of restaurants at the intersection of Stony Plain Rd and 170 St. The free cookies at check-in are a nice touch. Front Desk staff were excellent. Free ADSL (High Speed) Internet is available in the room. If you forget your cable, the staff will gladly loan you one for free.

The only down side is that the area around the hotel is not the prettiest side of Edmonton i.e. lots of strip malls and industry. And the only suggestion I would make for the exercise room is the addition of some barbells.

A great hotel at a reasonable price!

Torontonian.

  • Liked — Free Internet and Parking
  • Disliked — Not the prettiest view outside the hotel windows
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NorthYorkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17610 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is 20 minutes away from Downtown Edmonton and only 5 minutes away from the West Edmonton Mall. It is located on 178th Street and Stony Plain Road. This vibrant hotel offers 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms, popular recreational facilities such as heated swimming pool and hot tub, reasonably priced casual dining service in the Garden Grille & Bar and newly openend Backyard Lounge & Patio, free Wi-Fi and local phone calls, only to list a few. The Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is sure to cater to your needs whether it for business or a nice getaway, "We Speak Success!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing