We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked in, then checked out!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edmonton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitemud Inn Edmonton South
Ranked #78 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed August 16, 2006

We checked in on 14th Aug 06 on the way into Edmonton to visit the mall. When we dropped the bags off we were hit with the overpowering smell of detergent/ cleaning products, which we hoped would go with some ventilation. On our return later that day my wife was unable to spend more than 5 minutes in the room before she started to have a bad asthma attack, which she was sure was caused by the smell. When we asked at reception if it was possible to change rooms, we were initially told there were none available. When we pushed the matter further we were told there were 2 rooms available. These rooms also had an eye-wateringly overpowering smell of cleaning products, which my wife was unable to stand for more than a couple of seconds. When we explained at reception that it was the cleaning products being used that were the problem, we were told that it must be either my wife's fault as the cleaning products are non-allergenic, or due to the altitude! We checked out upon hearing that, and went across the street to the Travelodge, which we would advise anyone reading this to do also!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2006

We spent two nights here for a family wedding. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean and quiet. Coffee was always available in the lobby. We used the free internet, the microwave and the excellent shower. For the price this is a great value hotel, and we noticed it was sold out both nights we were here.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scrabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

Our first time trip to Edmonton was spoiled by this poorly maintained and run down motel.
Our large kitchen suite had beds for 8 people yet only 2 tiny rings to cook on and a tiny bathroom so small you have to stand in the bath to close the door.
The kitchen area was dirty despite the overpowering and eye watering disinfectant smell on arrival. We chased and captured a couple of cockroaches after finding them crawling on us in bed at night although sleep was already difficult as the main train line is approximately 20 metres from the rear of the motel which produces deafening noise and vibration into the early hours. The motel is in urgent need of refurbishment with it's run down facilities, missing or ripped mosquito blinds and striplight ceilings. The advertised internet access wasn't available in our room and the motel supply little to make your stay comfortable such as in room coffee, a laundry facility or even bags to line the garbage bins !
I'd recommend travellers to find alternative accommoation

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dawson Creek,BC
15
Reviewed June 27, 2005

Excellent Hospitality, clean rooms and comfortable amenties

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#53 of 91 in Edmonton
405 reviews
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
#67 of 91 in Edmonton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,099 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemud Inn Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemud Inn Edmonton South

Address: 4805 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail North
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Whitemud Hotel Edmonton
Whitemud Inn Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing