We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Texan enjoys Whyte Avenue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Texan enjoys Whyte Avenue”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Whyte avenue has the reputation for being a "party" spot in Edmonton and also known for not being a place to seep at night. Well this trip to Edmonton proved those rumors wrong. Traveling to Edmonton was a starting point for a trek the mountains. Knowing I'd need a place to sleep before and after the hike, I chose "Metterra Hotel on Whyte". Great prices, varied selection of food, comfortable beds, deep tubs for soaking aching muscles. Lots of places to shop, restock essentials and close to Old Strath Farmer's market.

All in all, this hotel is comfortable, great service and overall worth returning to in the future.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasRN_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    348
    92
    35
    18
See reviews for
226
481
83
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I do a lot of business in Edmonton and I think I've found my new go-to Hotel. White Avenue is packed with dining and shopping opportunities within walking of the Metterra and is a good destination for someone without a car.

The Hotel itself is nondiscript from the exterior and is kind of hid within the hustle & bustle of White avenue. I was able to find parking right in front of hotel. The hotel has parking facilities on the avenue south of them. Kind of hidden as well but you can see a red & white Private parking sign from 82 ave. hotel location.

The lobby is modern and welcoming and staff friendly and efficient. I was checked into my room in minutes. I had booked a patio suite and was impressed with the room. Huge, large entrance, nice sitting room with couch-tv-work desk.

Bedroom is big and looks south. Best of all private patio facing away from busy 82 avenue. I sat out there quite a bit and was amazed at how quiet it was. Bed was great, room was clean, shower was awesome. Free breakfast was a step above average hotel offering for sure.

Do yourself a favour and stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room on south side as they face away from busy 82 avenue. Hotel is quiet regardless though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second visit to the Metterra and we loved it just as much as the first time. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are comfy, well-decorated and very clean. The wine and cheese is a nice touch, with a good variety of appetizers -- perfect to hold you over until dinner. The breakfast has enough options for everyone and there is always someone refilling something. Nice gym with lots of equipment, water coolers and even a couple of big bowls of apples. Really nice touches throughout the hotel.

We just love that we can go out for dinner and drinks with family and friends and walk back to our hotel without having to worry about getting a cab or someone having to drive. Lots of fun restaurants and shops along Whyte Avenue, so there's always something interesting going on.

I'm from Edmonton and have family in the Whyte Ave area, so the location is just perfect for us. We will be back, hopefully many times!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskimos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stay at the Metterra almost every time we are in Edmonton for more than an overnight. The hotel is great - clean, breakfast and wine tasting, nice sized room, and very friendly staff! The location is very convenient too with tons of restaurants and night life just a short walk away.

Parking can be interesting with a full-sized SUV though. They have complimentary valet parking to take care of you but it can be tricky finding a place near the hotel on Whyte Ave to drop the vehicle off at. We were very lucky on this trip and had no issues.

Everything was great for this stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Metterra on Whyte is in a great location, but I will think twice before I stay there again. There are tons of restaurants and boutiques to shop at on Whyte. The downside was that there was loud music until 2 a.m. blaring through our room. We slept better with ear plugs the second night.
The beds were too soft for a tummy or back sleeper. Our room and the halls could have used a good vacuuming.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were located right over Julio Barrios. The music was loud until after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Rae010,
We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our location is often what draws our guests to our hotel but it can mean the activity at night can be disruptive. The earplugs in the rooms are to help with any excessive noise from the excited patrons on the street.

Our Housekeeping staff do an excellent job of keeping our hotel in tip top shape however, we will have a look at how we missed the vacuuming of some of those areas.

Thank you for your feedback, it helps us immensely to deliver the best experience to our guests. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further and we hope we can restore you faith in us.

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a 3rd return visit for us. The 2 previous visits were 4-5 years ago. We had enjoyed before and specifically looked up the Metterra for this 2 night trip. Check out the CHOICES special offer - 3 different choices if you stay 2 nights in a row during a specific portion of the week. Originally we hoped to stay 2 nights and get the third free - really good deal and would make it worth it to pay the higher hotel price, especially for Thur night ( compared to Fri ). The 50% off a second room is really fab. In the end, we took the room upgrade, the lowest benefit in my opinion.

The good: great location, very good breakfast, love the wine and cheese (every day except Sunday I think). The bathroom products are really lovely. The room décor is nice.

The not-as-good: I was disappointed on this visit by a few things. We stayed in room #409, a water room. My husband said the jetted tub didn't really seem to do anything. This side of the building has the building air conditioner / air exchange unit outside (not sure what it is called). We didn't notice it right away when we checked in. It wasn't a big problem and the constant white noise masked street noise, so perhaps that was actually better for us. The drapes didn't close, so we asked for some paper clips from the front desk for our second morning. This helped but this room gets a lot of light in the morning, even when the drapes are closed. The bed is soft and we prefer a firm bed. They could use a soap dish in the bathroom by the sink. Instead I put a face towel down to keep the counter from being a mess.

Probably the soft beds will have us looking elsewhere next time we come to Edmonton. We should ask if some rooms have firm beds ( we did not ).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy_and_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at The Met for two nights and had a lovely time! The hotel is modern and clean, and the front end staff were so helpful. The beds were comfortable, and the location was awesome. The best thing about the hotel was the delicious breakfast that was included in the price of the room! Great selection of breakfast items. I was unable to take advantage of the free wine and cheese, but that seemed like another nice touch. The only complaints we had was the level street noise and lack of close parking. Although they do offer complimentary valet parking, the loading zone in front of the hotel is very busy and hard to find a spot. They really do everything that they can to ensure the traffic is moving, and it was a minor inconvenience. As many reviews have stated before, it is noisy. You are on a very busy street with many bars and restaurants. Bring earplugs and it will not be an issue, but be warned that it can be very loud. A small price to pay to be right in the action. I would definitely stay at this hotel if I was in Edmonton again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl_lvr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,488 reviews
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#3 of 93 in Edmonton
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
332 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metterra Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metterra Hotel on Whyte

Property: Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Address: 10454 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 4Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metterra Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Metterra provides a contemporary hospitality experience on Edmonton’s trendy Whyte Avenue to travelers who appreciate accessible luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Metterra Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metterra Hotel Edmonton
Metterra Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing