We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on Whyte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for the area. There is no restaurant directly in the hotel but it is surrounded by restaurants and bars which is great but can be noisy in the early morning so ask for a room away from Whyte Avenue. We didn't and were awakened several times even though our stays were in the middle of the week.
The rooms are a good size and clean. We especially enjoyed the evening wine and cheese as well as the breakfast that is included. Not an extensive buffet but definitely enough.
Another plus is that valet parking is included which a great as the parking is sparse at times.

We enjoyed our two stays in February and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and away from Whyte. Our first room was on a lower floor with a patio which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,349 - 1,355 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Its a good enough hotel - clean, helpful staff, good fitness suite, apples at the main desk, and a great location - slap bang in the centre of Whyte Ave, the most cosmopolitan street in Edmonton. Apart from the location, nothing really sets the hotel apart from others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here while attending a multi-day sporting event. The hotel is nicely situated on Whyte Avenue giving easy access to restaurants and other attractions. Parking would be a problem but they have an exceptional valet service. If there's no room at the loading zone in front of the hotel, just park somewhere nearby and they will track your vehicle down and park it. Very convenient.

Once inside, the hotel has a nice look to it. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is quiet although the street noise sometimes finds its way to your room depending on which way you face. It's not intolerable though. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The free breakfast is very good and has lots of variety from hot items to grab and go. You won't be hungry unless you choose to. The room is large enough so there was no waiting.

The central location means that you don't need a vehicle to find a good place to eat. There are lots of restaurants close by for a variety of tastes. There's even an organic grocery store within walking distance if that's your choice. It's a vibrant neighbourhood that really comes alive on the weekend.

All in all it was a great choice of hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Positives:
This hotel has a very central location. Valet and self parking was great and no charge. Breakfast was included with a variety of choices. The bed linens were awesome and very comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. Happy Hour with free wine and cheese was a nice touch to a long day.
Negatives:
Carpet in room needs an update before long. The coffee pot didn't work in the room. I asked the cleaning staff for assistance since they were nearby to make sure I was using it correctly and I was. The coffee pot still wasn't replaced during my 3 night visit. There were two incidents I thought the staff should of addressed and didn't. 1. A couple in their 20ies strolled into the common room where happy hour and breakfast takes place and sat on the chairs with their feet up on the table during happy hour. Althought they lingered for sometime and noticed by all, the staff did not ask them to put their feet off the table. 2. The next morning at breakfast there was a guest sitting at a table in bare feet. Again I thought this gentlement should of been asked to go back to his room and at least put his socks on (remember the saying No Shirt, No Shoes, No Service). In order of this to be a well rated hotel staff have to ensure that certain standards are kept and I found this lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayeEdmontonAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and staff are excellent. The breakfast was also very good. The only issue we had was parking. The street in front is so busy that you have to park in a lot a block away and carry all of you suitcases with you to check in. The hotel staff will carry your luggage for you but we were in a rush to check in and run off to dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Located right in the heart of Whyte Avenue and incredible shopping and restaurants/pubs. The room was gorgeous. Had a fantastic view of Whyte Avenue. Complimentary valet parking was ideal and service and cleanliness of the hotel was perfect. The fire room had a small fridge, mini bar, keurig coffee maker and a great flat screen tv. Very comfortable bed and high celings. Plug ins at both sides of the bed was great for charging cell phones and ipads. Shower was very good, but water pressure is typical for a hotel, so if you have to wash long thick hair preprare to be in there for awhile! Bathroom itself was spacious and a lot of room to store toiletries etc. Robes were also a nice touch. Complimentary breakfast was really good and a lot of healthy selections. You could even make waffles! I poked my head in the fitness room and there was 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical trainer and 1 recumbent bike along with 1 bench, some dumbbells and a universal gym. Typical hotel gym. We have stayed at the sister hotel Varscona in the past, but will definitely be staying at the Mettera again. Loved it.

Room Tip: we were on the 8th floor with a great view of Whyte Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in Jan. for my xmas party at Von's on Whyte. We were very impressed. We used the free valet parking and when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite. King bed with TV in bedroom and couches, table, fridge, desk and TV in the living room. Our room was super clean and I was very impressed. We got ready and used our free drink at the bar next door and walked to my party. We used the voucher for breakfast and we both loved it. I had a farmer's omelette and my husband had the eggs benedict. We both were pleased. then off to get my car and head home, but I would not hesitate to stay there again.
The staff was great and I would totally recommend it if you need to be in that part of town or it it's just a night out as there are lots of pubs in the area.

Room Tip: Use the drink and bfast voucher, very good:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maried11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 91 in Edmonton
2,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 91 in Edmonton
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 91 in Edmonton
358 reviews
5.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metterra Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metterra Hotel on Whyte

Address: 10454 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 4Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Green Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $134 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metterra Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef; including piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Metterra provides a contemporary hospitality experience on Edmonton’s trendy Whyte Avenue to travelers who appreciate accessible luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metterra Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metterra Hotel Edmonton
Metterra Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing