We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but parking is an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but parking is an issue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and staff are excellent. The breakfast was also very good. The only issue we had was parking. The street in front is so busy that you have to park in a lot a block away and carry all of you suitcases with you to check in. The hotel staff will carry your luggage for you but we were in a rush to check in and run off to dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    329
    88
    32
    18
See reviews for
210
447
78
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Located right in the heart of Whyte Avenue and incredible shopping and restaurants/pubs. The room was gorgeous. Had a fantastic view of Whyte Avenue. Complimentary valet parking was ideal and service and cleanliness of the hotel was perfect. The fire room had a small fridge, mini bar, keurig coffee maker and a great flat screen tv. Very comfortable bed and high celings. Plug ins at both sides of the bed was great for charging cell phones and ipads. Shower was very good, but water pressure is typical for a hotel, so if you have to wash long thick hair preprare to be in there for awhile! Bathroom itself was spacious and a lot of room to store toiletries etc. Robes were also a nice touch. Complimentary breakfast was really good and a lot of healthy selections. You could even make waffles! I poked my head in the fitness room and there was 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical trainer and 1 recumbent bike along with 1 bench, some dumbbells and a universal gym. Typical hotel gym. We have stayed at the sister hotel Varscona in the past, but will definitely be staying at the Mettera again. Loved it.

Room Tip: we were on the 8th floor with a great view of Whyte Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in Jan. for my xmas party at Von's on Whyte. We were very impressed. We used the free valet parking and when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite. King bed with TV in bedroom and couches, table, fridge, desk and TV in the living room. Our room was super clean and I was very impressed. We got ready and used our free drink at the bar next door and walked to my party. We used the voucher for breakfast and we both loved it. I had a farmer's omelette and my husband had the eggs benedict. We both were pleased. then off to get my car and head home, but I would not hesitate to stay there again.
The staff was great and I would totally recommend it if you need to be in that part of town or it it's just a night out as there are lots of pubs in the area.

Room Tip: Use the drink and bfast voucher, very good:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maried11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Recently stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Confused by other reviewers commenting on 'needing refurbishment'. Our exec room was lovely, spacious, well stocked and certainly not in need of any repairs. Bed was super comfy. The location is excellent, staff friendly and everywhere spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious with two hot options and multiple other choices. The coffee machine available in the hospitality room (6am-10pm) made the best coffee and availability of this to guests is a definite plus!! If you don't have a car then public transit is easily accessible almost at the front door for both West Ed Mall and downtown area. Would definately choose to stay here again if ever in Edmonton and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Our room did not overlook Whyte Ave - so although no view of the life on Whyte it was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel has been open for quite some time. It was designed with a modern theme. The thing with modern design is can tend to get stale after a while. The rooms here are starting to need a refresh, maintenance is lacking. Otherwise, nice place. Decent price as far as Edmonton goes. Bed and linens are great. Bathroom is nice (stayed in the water room). The rooms are quiet given the location. Breakfast is nice, mostly cold stuff. Location can't be beat. They have valet parking, otherwise parking in the area can be tough. Front desk is prompt, friendly and helpful. Check in/out is very easy. Book through their website - it's the easiest and cheapest. They generally have some good deals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I pretty much lived at the Met for 2 months while gong through a busy period with work.

The staff are great, the location central to almost everything, and the valet parking is fast and easy. I never heard Whyte Ave from my room.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, although after 16 nights one month I started to think that they were a bit stark. I had a number of rooms on almost every floor - I love the bigger suites with the shower with body jets after a long day of meetings. So relaxing!

Breakfast is good - standard fare with granola, cereal, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, etc... No complaints and always left full and ready to conquer another day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTrippingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice. We spent the night in one of their best rooms for our anniversary.

The rooms defintely had seen some wear and tear since we first stayed here in 2007. But it was still clean and extremely well decorated. Whyte avenue is fun - great location.

I booked early and they gave me a great deal. When we got a ticket in their parking lot, they took care of it.

We also had the breakfast and enjoyed it.

We will continue to go to the Metterra for years to come. If you are looking for a trendy hotel to stay in, come here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theryguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metterra Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metterra Hotel on Whyte

Property: Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Address: 10454 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 4Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Green Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metterra Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metterra Hotel on Whyte is Edmonton's premiere boutique hotel nestled in the heart of Old Strathcona, voted one of the "Top 10 Coolest Neighbourhoods in Canada." The hotel is situated among numerous stylish restaurants, spas and locally owned boutique shops. This central location provides easy access to major arterial routes, proximity to the city's key areas for business and recreation as well as the Edmonton International Airport and caters to corporate, university, hospital and leisure travelers seeking chic surroundings, good value, and exceptional service. Experience serenity in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metterra Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metterra Hotel Edmonton
Metterra Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing