We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you spend over 100 nights in a hotel per year you get a real perspective...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Edmonton South
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When you spend over 100 nights in a hotel per year you get a real perspective...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel over 20 times in the past two years. Always a warm reception and they reward their frequent travellers with a free night every 15th stay; this is in addition to the usual Wyndham Rewards and, in my opinion, a great perk for business travellers such as myself. I could stay basically anywhere I wanted to but I always make Super 8 my first port-of-call when I'm doing business on the south side of Edmonton. No regrets about staying here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    147
    89
    31
    26
See reviews for
205
41
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently checked in for a medical trip. I asked for two things one the medical rate and two a wheel chair accessible room. I expected something a reduction in the price due to the medical rate I was charged 123.00 I inquired if that was the medical rate I was assured rah was the medical rate I asked why it was as high as it was. I was assured that was because the room had a king bed. They did not tell me if they had an accessible room with a queen bed. Why does it cost more to have a king bed when if that is the only room they have that is accessible you have no choice but to take the king bed because the need for accessibility over rides your option for a queen. Damned either why I would say eh?

Room Tip: Be sure to qualify before you book the room the rate if you are needing it for a medical rate or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for the convience of location and for the breakfast. When I called to enquire about the breakfast it was stated that there would be more than just waffles. There were no waffles, eggos do not count as waffles!! Good thing there were other items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not at all what I expected for the money I spent! Sure, it was a pet friendly hotel but it also smelled like it, too. The room smelled very strongly of bleach to mask the smell of other animals' urine. The walls were dirty and marked up.
The continental breakfast was skimpy and had an extremely limited selection. Poor quality for the dollar!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We got a last minute reservation at this hotel due to an unexpected change in our accommodations. We arrived late, tired and weary to a very friendly front desk staff who kindly upgraded us to a two bedroom suite for free. The room was clean, quiet and the beds were comfortable. There were tv's in both rooms and a door separating our space from our children. We had two small issues. Short one bath towel which caused a trip to the front desk as well as a plugged toilet at 6am. My husband went and got the plunger from the front desk as the kids were sleeping. Breakfast was good. Very busy in the dining area. We got the last available table. Everyone was satisfied with their meals. We would stay again as it was great value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelownadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place was great. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I was so impressed that i didn't notice a few things. The furniture in he room was a little dated. Beds were great. Extra pillows.iron,coffeemaker,fridge. The TV was a tube type with lots of channels. No pay for view. The whole place was so well kept. The breakfast area was spacious. Food was basic but better than most Super 8s. free newspaper. It is located walking distance from save on foods, Esso, Lots of fast food and a few others. Wi fi was strong and fast. It is a little hard to find on the first try located between 2 one ways. The location near a main road makes for easy access to downtown and points E W S. If you are concerned about the environment this place is for you. They have recycling in the room and the usual sheet reuse options. They have one extra piece. They are a member of ecostay.ca They carbon offset your stay for a $2 charge. So your stay ends up carbon neutral.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#63 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
BEST WESTERN Cedar Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Edmonton South

Property: Super 8 Edmonton South
Address: Super 8 Hotel Edmonton South 3610 Gateway Blvd NW | 34th Ave & Calgary Trail, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 7H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Edmonton South 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Edmonton
Super 8 Edmonton South Alberta
Edmonton Super Eight
Edmonton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing