We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Edmonton South
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not at all what I expected for the money I spent! Sure, it was a pet friendly hotel but it also smelled like it, too. The room smelled very strongly of bleach to mask the smell of other animals' urine. The walls were dirty and marked up.
The continental breakfast was skimpy and had an extremely limited selection. Poor quality for the dollar!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Edmonton South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 406 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We got a last minute reservation at this hotel due to an unexpected change in our accommodations. We arrived late, tired and weary to a very friendly front desk staff who kindly upgraded us to a two bedroom suite for free. The room was clean, quiet and the beds were comfortable. There were tv's in both rooms and a door separating our space from our children. We had two small issues. Short one bath towel which caused a trip to the front desk as well as a plugged toilet at 6am. My husband went and got the plunger from the front desk as the kids were sleeping. Breakfast was good. Very busy in the dining area. We got the last available table. Everyone was satisfied with their meals. We would stay again as it was great value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelownadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place was great. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I was so impressed that i didn't notice a few things. The furniture in he room was a little dated. Beds were great. Extra pillows.iron,coffeemaker,fridge. The TV was a tube type with lots of channels. No pay for view. The whole place was so well kept. The breakfast area was spacious. Food was basic but better than most Super 8s. free newspaper. It is located walking distance from save on foods, Esso, Lots of fast food and a few others. Wi fi was strong and fast. It is a little hard to find on the first try located between 2 one ways. The location near a main road makes for easy access to downtown and points E W S. If you are concerned about the environment this place is for you. They have recycling in the room and the usual sheet reuse options. They have one extra piece. They are a member of ecostay.ca They carbon offset your stay for a $2 charge. So your stay ends up carbon neutral.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel is comfortable and clean. Nice to have kitchen area and frig for goodies to be stored. I didn't appreciate the false fire alarm the first night we were there. In a non weight bearing cast and using crutches proved to be a challenge thinking about how I'd get down safely from the fourth floor. Luckily we found out it was a false alarm. Breakfast is so so. Overall a nice place with an awesome pool with water slide!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sktraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited Edmonton during sad circumstances to help a dying relative. The clean comfortable rooms, great pool-waterslide area, but most of all the kind congenial staff brightened our 6-day stay and made us feel like family. We missed them after we left and plan to come again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delores T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#51 of 93 in Edmonton
380 reviews
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Edmonton South

Address: Super 8 Hotel Edmonton South 3610 Gateway Blvd NW | 34th Ave & Calgary Trail, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 7H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Edmonton South 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Edmonton
Super 8 Edmonton South Alberta
Edmonton Super Eight
Edmonton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing