We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Edmonton South
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Glendon,Ab
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The staff were awesome. Room clean and comfy beds. they still had breakfast out after 1000 and we were allowed to eat. Good location easy acess to restaurants and shopping. we didn't try out the pool, maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonde4randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    148
    92
    32
    27
See reviews for
211
41
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sedgewick
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family recently spent two nights here. On our last day we woke up to find our truck windows smashed out and we had been robbed of valuables. This happened to five or six people. The hotel didn't even phone to report it, apologize or compensate us in any way! We were told this is a frequent event! If you want to feel safe then don't stay here! Maybe the security should walk around the outside premises or invest in some cameras!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammie725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that your car was broken into in our parking lot. We do our very best to make things safe at our hotel. Car break ins happen every where and is a problem across Alberta according to AMA. We are not the only hotel or business that has experienced this. It can happen while shopping, at a movie or even parked in your own driveway. We have signs posted that warn people not to leave valuables in their car as this is the best way to deter thieves according to the police. If an occurence does happen, it is up to the guest if they want the police called as they are the ones that have to file the report. We certainly will make that call for the guest if they want. Once again I am truly sorry that this occured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been staying in this hotel for 8 years and it is now starting to show its age with things like missing trim, rust near the hot tub and pool, etc.. but the price is not reflecting this condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We have been in the process of renovating our hotel, a process that does take time. We have currently done about 25% of our rooms and have ordered another 40 rooms of furniture, room carpet and flat screen TV's. The rust in the pool area is always a challenge due to the salt water. It is a battle that we are constantly fighting but there aren't a lot of solutions to get rid of it. I appreciate your feedback and do hope you will give us another chance.
thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, breakfast good, and great coffee. The down fall was no heat or should say in the morning it took couple of hours to warm up enough to have a shower. Also tiles in bathroom area cold-cold!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckley003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I really appreciate your review about our hotel. It's great to hear that you had a good experience with us other than heat. I do hope you mentioned this at the front desk so that our maintenance personal was able to fix the problem. We have been upgrading our air conditioning/heating units so that these kinds of problems don't occur. I am glad that your room was clean and comfortable and do hope we see you again.
thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on the weekend with my daughter's soccer team. Reasonable price -- you get what you pay for. The facility is showing it's age. Rooms were ok and clean -- do not order the pizza from the company that puts their flyer under the door.... it's really greasy.The best part of the hotel for the girls was the pool -- it has a terrific waterslide. The gang was in there for hours on end. average quality continental breakfast in the morning -- nothing to write home about, but we sure appreciated it because it saved us from spending $$ on breakfast.
All in ... average hotel with good location in the south.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are always wanting to hear what guests are saying in order that we can learn and improve. Our pool and waterslide is a great feature and it certainly sounds like the team had fun. I am glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and do hope your team will consider us again in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

the staff was friendly and location was within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank notimpressed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the compliment to our staff. The try very hard to ensure that every guest experience is a great one and I am very proud of them. We appreciate our business and do hope we see you again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#57 of 93 in Edmonton
343 reviews
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Edmonton South

Property: Super 8 Edmonton South
Address: Super 8 Hotel Edmonton South 3610 Gateway Blvd NW | 34th Ave & Calgary Trail, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 7H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Edmonton South 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Edmonton
Super 8 Edmonton South Alberta
Edmonton Super Eight
Edmonton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing