We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great establishment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Edmonton South
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Right from the moment we entered we were welcomed by the friendly front desk staff. The rooms were clean and clearly appeared newly renovated. The kids had fun at the pool and they loved the breakfast. Lots of selection and it had a person there monitoring to make sure the food was always ready to go. The location was fantastic as it was easy to get to major roads to get us around the city quickly. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvaughan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 431 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at a Super 8 in British Columbia and was looking forward to the same great experience that we had there, but we were kind of dissapointed. We chose Super 8 because they are pet frinedly but this place is not really set up for pet care. No place to take the dogs out to do their business in a private area, you have to bring them through the front loby and do their business in front of the hotel. They did have a back door but it was locked from the inside, so once you go out you can't enter again. No pet waste removal station or even an outdoor trash can to dispose of waste. The rooms were somewhat ok, looks like they tried to make it nice but didn't quite hit the mark. Not bad but not super great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyeaglekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, Asst. Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

We are very sorry that your experience at the Super 8 Edmonton South did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guest's comments with our staff and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to help improve guest's experiences.
We appreciate all the feedback we receive. This way we can better ourselves in great Customer Service. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We've stayed here a few times when my husband has a business course he takes further south. It's convenient for both of us . His drive is shorter and I can walk to a few stores nearby if I choose or take a $7 cab ride to Southgate Shopping Centre (which I must say is a great mall after renovations a few years back with some high end shops now!) Our room was very clean and the bed was really a nice comfortable surprise! The a/c worked great if we needed it. Staff is very friendly and helpful and we loved that the whole property is 'smoke free' ! We haven't ever used the pool but if I was travelling with kids I would love it .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espanolosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, Asst. Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We truly thank you and greatly appreciated the kind comments you gave us. We are all glad that your stay turned out to a remarkable experience. It is our pleasure welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

While nothing special, this hotel is a very good price, with easy access to the rest of the city. A free continental breakfast and a small pool with waterslide added to the extras offered. If you don't need to be downtown then definitely worth considering this - and lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paixful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juvy S, Asst. Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you find our location easy access mostly to everything and especially you enjoyed your visit to Super 8 Edmonyon South. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edmonton soon and hope you'll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the close proximity to family whom we were visiting. Pictures on website looked very nice, and it had a salt water indoor pool. Upon arrival, we noticed a plaque outside on the hotel wall stating hotel was opened in 2001...okay... still fairly new.
Lobby was over powered with the smell of chlorine as the pool was right there and no doors to close it off. One elevator for entire 4 story hotel that was so dirty, slow and smelled. Upon entering our room on the 3rd floor, was quite surprised at the small size considering it had 2 queen beds. Sink is by the door and you could barely get to the toilet as there was approx. 3" of space between door and tub.
There was a small fridge in the room and when I opened it to put some drinks in, there was a takeout container of what looked like to be at one time nachos from the Denny's next door. Disgusting. One of the beds was comprised of 2 box springs! Hard as a rock, while the other was so torn up on the box spring, the mattress was mismatched and so old it squeaked horribly. The carpets were covered in white lint and threads and the towels in bathroom were just draped over the towel bar sloppily.
We were tired from traveling and decided to go for a nice swim before retiring for the night. No such luck as pool was full of screaming kids at 930 pm. We have nothing against children, but it was late and no lifeguard on duty and no parents.
We went out the next morning to the Denny's next door due to the fact that the room for free continental breakfast was full to capacity with men heading out to work, I'm assuming in the oil fields. We were gone maybe less than an hour and when we came back to our room, housekeeping had already been. The covers were thrown over the bed, pillows thrown on bed, towels once again draped over the bar, not even folded and carpet was still filthy. That night, it got extremely noisy at 10pm in the hallway. Looking out the door, we discovered 6 young boys approx. 10 years old, playing road hockey! A call to the front desk was unproductive as was a second call, after both times stating they'd be right up. Was 45 min. later and you could hear the parents calling them in.
We went to the breakfast room a bit earlier in hopes of getting a continental breakfast, but there wasn't too much left at 7am (opened @630) the workmen were there again and eating food like they was no tomorrow. I don't begrudge them that by any means, but the breakfast is for everyone. When we asked the staff if they were replenishing anything, we were told when the rest of the guys came down, they would! One fellow enjoyed his Costco sized muffin, 4 hard boiled eggs, 7 waffles, 2 bowls of cereal and a plate of fruit. I was lucky there was 1/2 cup coffee left in pot...that was my breakfast, my husband went without.
We checked out that morning and when asked at front desk if we enjoyed our stay, we explained the hockey kids in the hall and the non-existent continental breakfast. Her response, "Oh well".

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank km100503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Last minute post Christmas stay with the kids enroute. Really friendly staff and a good price. Kids loved the waterslide and pool.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CowdenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSP, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of the Super 8 Edmonton South. We did have some great rates over Christmas and kids always love the pool and waterslide. I'm very lucky to have such a great staff working with me. Thank you again for your review. Hope to see you again soon! Chris Short, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Hotel is clean, room is clean, beds are comfy, choice of different pillows and excellent service. This hotel always gives great service, after staying only a few times, they remember your name and greet you on a first name basis. Juvy, gives great customer service and always has a smile on her face. Gives you the small town atmosphere within the big city, with easy access to and from the city. thanks Super 8!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunFunMar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSP, General Manager at Super 8 Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2010

Thank you so much for writing a review for the Super 8 Edmonton South. It's always great to read a great review! We are so lucky to have the staff we do and especially Juvy. She takes such great care of guests. Juvy is one in a million. Thanks again for staying with the Super 8 Edmonton South, we hope to see you back one day soon!. Chris Short, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#50 of 93 in Edmonton
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Edmonton South

Address: 3610 Gateway Blvd NW | 34th Ave & Calgary Trail, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 7H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $84 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Edmonton South 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Edmonton
Super 8 Edmonton South Alberta
Edmonton Super Eight
Edmonton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing