We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I dream of poutine”
Review of La Poutine

La Poutine
Ranked #272 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Canadian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I dream of poutine”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was thrilled when La Poutine opened. I am a little obsessed with poutine. Here's the lowdown: the fries are fried twice (as they should be), there is a choice between Western or Quebec style gravy and the cheese curds are squeaky. There is even a vegan option (incl vegan gravy). I personally veer a bit from the traditional and go for the "supreme". Bacon bits, sour cream, green onions, gravy...load it on I say! They are open till 10pm (one day, hopefully, they'll open for the 2am crowd as well). Parking, like anywhere on that block, is a pain but it's on a main transit route and an easy walk to wherever you were going on Whyte Ave anyway. Also, there is only a couple of tables (and two outdoors in the summer).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTF1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good thing it was a nice day and we could sit outside!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Instead of going away for the weekend, my husband and I decided to explore places in the city. We went for a long walk through Old Strathcona and decided to have lunch at La Poutine since we have driven by it so many times. We had our son with us and since there are only 2 tables and a counter with four seats in the entire place, we had to eat outside so it was a good thing that the weather was nice! I ordered The Cowboy and my husband ordered the Quebecois and both were delicious! They were definitely both better than the standard poutine that you get at places like New York Fries or A & W and the BBQ Sauce and the chicken on the Cowboy was a nice change from normal. I wouldn't go out of my way to make a special trip back there but if I happened to be in the area, I would go back. There were lots of other kinds on the menu that I wanted to try as well. Only wish there was more seating!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christinefromedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, but on a busy street.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We heard that we had to try poutine when we visited Canada from the U.S. It was delicious with generous portions. I don't think we can duplicate it back home, since the cheese curds would be hard to find. They had that special "squeek" on your teeth consistency, which can't be duplicated. Anyway, the place is very small, with just a few small tables inside. Also parking is very difficult. We had to park a block away in the residential area, but it was so worth it. The Cowboy and Granny's Poutine was delicious and filling. Wish they had it here in California.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shibas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Now, of course you can't eat poutine all the time, but when you get the craving this is the perfect spot to go! Portions are large and there is a lot of variety in what you can order. The poutine is just delicious - I usually just get the 'regular' one. My only complaint is that there's not a lot of seating in the restaurant, so it's best to plan for a take-out in case you can't find a spot. But definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the Poutine”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I read about this tiny restaurant in the Edmonton Journal that sells Poutine just like in Quebec and had to try it out. We had the Traditional Poutine and enjoyed it very much -- better than other Poutine we have had. My husband wants to try the other types of Poutine that are on the menu in future visits. The restaurant is small with limited seating but they have a table outside in the summer. It was busy when we were there as it was lunch time but they filled orders in a timely manner. Service was very friendly. It can be difficult to find parking if it is a busy time of day but it is worth it take the time to look for a parking spot and walk a block or two to the restaurant just to enjoy some very good Poutine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poutine also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to La Poutine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing