We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay if going to Rexal Place”
Review of Coliseum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coliseum Inn
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Stayed in renovated room. Well worth the value of room for location!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieTravel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 616 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

This hotel was sketchy for me based on the reviews that I'd read, but upon arriving I discovered that this information was totally false! I made sure I got one of the renovated rooms, and am greatly impressed with what I got. The room was spotless, and nicely decorated. The bed was very clean and extremely comfortable. It is a noisy location, being on a busy street and literally directly across the street from Rexall (literally right across the street) but that worked out well for me and my boyfriend, as we were too tired from our concert afterward to care. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My friend and I travelled to Edmonton for the recent Lady Gaga concert and decided to try this hotel because of the proximity to Rexall place. I always check on tripadvisor before booking any room and so I knew to ask for a renovated room. We were given a room on the 7th floor and were completely shocked by just how nice it was. Everything is new, clean and just beautiful with fridge, microwave and high end coffeemaker. The bed was wonderfully comfy with high quality linens.
They offer a deal for $189 which gives you this great room with two queen beds, $50 cert for Flow Lounge where we enjoyed a surprisingly delicious buffet before the concert and $50 credit at Diesel. Excellent value!
We had a great time and would not hesitate to stay here again. Hopefully they will soon get all the rooms renovated because it's incredibly convenient to stay so close to the Coliseum. Well done Coliseum Inn!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I went to the Tool concert at the beginning of July at Rexall Place. My friends and I live in Edmonton, but we decided to stay a hotel that night, so it would be like "real night out."
We decided to stay at the Coliseum Inn, and I got to tell you, it was very good.

First and foremost, the location was great, it's a 1 minute walk (literally) from our room to the front door of Rexall Place.

Second, the rooms were nice. Very clean, and I think we got a renovated room because it was very modern and well furnished.

Thirdly, we really enjoyed eating at the restaurant (I think it's called Flow), and we capped off the night at Diesel (nightclub).

It was a perfect night out! My friends and I are going to do this again for the next concert, maybe for the U2 concert, can't wait.

Some of the friends I was with have stayed at this hotel in past (i.e. for hockey games, etc.) and they told me the hotel has signficiantly improved.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camnylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Hi. I stayed at the coliseum inn last month. The new renovated rooms are sweet! I loved it. The best bed ever, amazing bathroom, and gourmet coffee. It was way better than I imagined. I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferJetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is not a hotel I'd ever recommend unless you didn't have transport and were gong to an event at the Rexall.

Hotel is old and shabby and the area leaves a lot to be desired. Only stay here if you really have to.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in March. We went and saw an NHL game one night and went out for dinner and shopping the next.

Location: The location is directly across the street from the main entrance to Rexall Place, and has great free parking in a covered parkade. It literally took us less then 5 minutes to leave our room and get to our seats at the hockey game.

Property; I was put off by the exterior appearance, a grungy brick block with a dated yellow sign. The lobby is small and sparse with a small sitting area and " business center" (computer in a closet). The ground floor also has two different bars; a sports bar and a dance club. We used the sports bar as a meeting place after the game, and had a decent burger in there. Although, from previous experience with bars in hotels, we knew to ask- and get- a room as far away as possible from the bar. We were on the eighth floor with no sound problems, though our friends on the 3rd were not so lucky. Although my husband was kept up by the sound of drunks singing in the alley behind the bar, I had no problems.

Rooms- Wow, thank you trip advisor! We knew to ask for a renovated room, and were very happy with it! New everything- with one of the most comfy beds I've ever slept on at a hotel. The room was very clean, new windows, TV and an updated bathroom. The hallway carpets and paint were fresh too. This made up for a lot!

Staff- Very nice staff, helpful people. Only complaint was the lack of express check-out feature. Had to stand and wait for 20 minutes while the clerk fussed with papers in a drawer, trying to find my info. This hotel doesn't use a computer system- very strange!

Overall; Great location if you are in town for an event, but not a resort property at all. Reasonable price, if you get a renovated room, with covered parking and close to bars (good and bad).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunPrincess9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
3 mi away
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
#67 of 93 in Edmonton
283 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Edmonton East
Travelodge Edmonton East
#76 of 93 in Edmonton
210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Edmonton South
Days Inn Edmonton South
#32 of 93 in Edmonton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
1.5 mi away
Century Casino and Hotel Edmonton
0.2 mi away
Eastglen Inn
Eastglen Inn
#75 of 93 in Edmonton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coliseum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coliseum Inn

Address: 11845 Wayne Gretzky Drive Southbound NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $61 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coliseum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coliseum Inn is located directly across from Northlands Coliseum and the Expo Center. Only 10 minutes from the heart of Downtown Edmonton, we are pleased to offer a Hot Deluxe Breakfast included when you book directly with us as well as complimentary parking and Free Wi-Fi access for every room. Local calls are always free. The Coliseum Inn is pleased to feature Global Buffet, open late and available for lunch and dinner everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Coliseum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coliseum Hotel Edmonton
Coliseum Motel Edmonton
Coliseum Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing