We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Coliseum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coliseum Inn
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a great experience! The hotel is under renovations but, you really do not hear them. I don't know what people are talking about. The staff from the front desk to maintenance and cleaning staff were excellent. You are right on Wayne Gretzky Drive that takes you anywhere in the city. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    168
    106
    52
    72
See reviews for
123
119
52
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 4 days here last week. The hotel staff were very friendly, from the front desk people to the maintenance and cleaning people. Our room was clean and freah. Everything in our room worked like it was supposed to (ie: hairblower, microwave, air conditioning, TV). We were warned about the construction before we even booked so were aware that there would be extra noise. The bar downstairs was only open 2 nights that we were there and yes it was a little loud but I believe the music was shut down by 12 or 1. We were on the 5th floor and faced the coliseum. We parked for free. There is not one thing about this hotel I can complain about. We were treated great. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just stayed here on 4th floor for 6 nights. Before check-in I asked the gentlemen to make sure give us room on floor thats not noisy and He gave us 4/F and i asked if it will be noisy for a few times and he said no. Even though there is notice at the door showing construction on 3/F, but I trusted him. I was wrong.

First 4 days we went out before 8am and came back late so there was no noise. Last 3 mornings at 8am we hear hamming, drilling, sawing, and sounds like its right beside us.

I called the front desk and politely asked the lady, Jamie, to tell the construction ppl to start work later because its only 8am. She said rudely there r notice everywhere posted in the hotel abt the construction. i asked to be moved to another room. she said all rooms were booked so i cant move.

I went on booking.com and Priceline to try booking another hotel and both web site shows that coliseum inn has room available for booking.

I left my contact no to Jamie at 10am and ask her to have the manager, Summit Roy, to call me back because she said Summit was in meeting. And he has never called.

If u think my experience is what u can tolerate then go ahead to book and don't blame me becuz I warn u aldy!!






  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nokidding00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is operated by bare minimum staff'; so don't expect be pampered but the front desk staff is very helpful. Noise from renovation will may cause you disturbance during day time but the nights are peaceful. The best feature of hotel is spacious, neat and clean rooms at a very reasonable prize. Coffee maker is provided is the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Should have read the reviews before staying here! Bar downstairs was so loud all night! When we called the front desk to complain the attendant said he has told the manager many times about the noise complaints and the managers response is people should check the reviews. Nice... Guess he's ok with bad reviews, well here's another one to add to the list. Btw we were located on the 7th floor

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiveOn314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a room on the 7th floor and agreed with many other reviewers that the room was clean and comfortable, front desk was friendly and helpful and overall the Coliseum Inn was a place to return to. However, the morning we prepared to check out there was a power failure. It seemed strange to see lights on in buildings across the street and street lights on but the Coliseum Inn was pitch black. Phones were dead so no contact with the front desk. No fire alarm ringing so we headed to the elevator but it was also dead. We grabbed our luggage and entered the fire exit stairwell for the walk down from the 7th floor. It was also pitch black so we had to use our cell phones as weak flashlights to find our way down to the lobby. One would think that Alberta Fire Code requires emergency lighting in exit stairwells but we could not see any and were exiting within the 30 minutes the battery packs last after the onset of a power failure. When we reached the front desk to check out there was no explanation as to why the power was off or the stairwells were dark, only a request for more information since their computers were dead and they would have to check us out after the power came back on.

Room Tip: Ask for a good flashlight in case there is a power failure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnB_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have had 2 rooms at this hotel, and they were excellent and updated. Clean modern rooms with new everything. There is also a coin operated laundry room with fairly new industrial machines. The prices fluctuate (about double or triple) around events. Their non-event rates are very very affordable. The staff have always been helpful and accommodating.

The exterior of this building doesn't really have the curb appeal that would suggest the quality that is held within.

My only complaint is the neighborhood is not the greatest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
5.2 mi away
Yellowhead Inn
Yellowhead Inn
#31 of 93 in Edmonton
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastglen Inn
Eastglen Inn
#78 of 93 in Edmonton
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#83 of 93 in Edmonton
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Edmonton East
Travelodge Edmonton East
#80 of 93 in Edmonton
186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coliseum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coliseum Inn

Property: Coliseum Inn
Address: 11845 Wayne Gretzky Drive Southbound NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coliseum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coliseum Inn is located directly across from Northlands Coliseum and the Expo Center. Only 10 minutes from the heart of Downtown Edmonton, we are pleased to offer a Hot Deluxe Breakfast included when you book directly with us as well as complimentary parking and Free Wi-Fi access for every room. Local calls are always free. The Coliseum Inn is pleased to feature Global Buffet, open late and available for lunch and dinner everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Coliseum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coliseum Hotel Edmonton
Coliseum Motel Edmonton
Coliseum Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing