We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the royalty of bakeshops”
Review of Duchess Bake Shop

Duchess Bake Shop
Ranked #1 of 43 Dessert in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly the royalty of bakeshops”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service is always quick and friendly. The atmosphere is great. There are a wide range of selections and they never disappoint. A shop that rivals the ones in Europe. Good for takeaway or a sit down coffee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    211
    42
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decadent!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really is worth all of the hype. Everything I've had is perfect. The lemon tarts are my favourite. Also a beautiful shop to sit in and watch the world go by. A true gem

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The most royal place on Earth”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The awesomeness of the Duchess Bake Shop is just indescribable. In the line of 50 people they still make you feel like you're the only one standing there. I just love them and everything they do and are! The Duchess Bake Shop is a MUST GO when visiting Edmonton! No other place like that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TriinTae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Edmonton by far.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

You have to try this place!!!!! If you love chocolate the "duke" cake is to die for. The lemon meringue cake is also delicious and the Pièce de résistance is the salted caramel macaroons. It can get very busy especially on weekends so go early as not to be disappointed. The only down side is that it can be difficult to find a parking spot. My mouth is watering while writing this review. Go, go now!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“This place is a gem”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

All I could say is that the salted caramel macaroons are to die for! I have never tasted macaroons this good. In fact, we can see ourselves coming back over and over again to try everything.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duchess Bake Shop also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Duchess Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing