We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duchess Bake Shop

Duchess Bake Shop
Ranked #1 of 41 Dessert in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This place is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

All I could say is that the salted caramel macaroons are to die for! I have never tasted macaroons this good. In fact, we can see ourselves coming back over and over again to try everything.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    195
    37
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oo La La!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Love the Duchess! This is an exquisite little room in the 124 St. area. Pretty decor just adds to the inviting feel as you walk in the door. Depending on the time of your visit, you may or may not be able to score a table, but don't let that stop you from ordering. It's hard to know where to start as everything made at this Parisian style bakery is not just beautiful to look at, but equally tasty. This is primarily a sweet shop. you'll not be leaving with a baguette under your arm, but more likely a bag of rainbow coloured macarons, chocolate dipped financiers or madelines. Should you find a seat, enjoy a cup of wonderfully brewed coffee with your pastry. A great light lunch is such a coffee with the caramelized onion, potato and Gruyere cheese tart. Mmmmmm. And for total decadence, check out the Duke, a chocolate masterpiece.

This is a great place for people watching as well, from Glenora matrons in fur coats to young families and hip young couples.

I've been to Duchess many times and have never had a bad experience. If you can't sit, so what? Enjoy the ambience while you wait for your goodies, grab them and enjoy....every...bite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I wish I could live at Duchess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Duchess is amazing. Particular favourites are pistachio macarons, any and all meringues, Earl Gray shortbread and key lime tart. Many more things to try, it will be a delight to do so.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Baking was to die for! Had the macaroons and they were a complete revelation, beyond delicious and so many unique flavors to choose from. Bought an assortment of treats to bring home for the family and all were devine. But the macaroons, you must have the macaroons!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smartfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious treats (only when fresh)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I'm new to Edmonton and my Dad sent me an article about the Duchess Bake Shop in the National Post. I thought it would be great to check out and bring him home some treats home for Christmas. The girl at the Bake Shop counter told me that if I bought some macaroons they would be great and last until Christmas (this was about 2-3 weeks before), so I spent around $25 on them. This was a waste, as a few days later they were stale, crusty and not near as tasty as they were fresh.

Someone from the Bake Shop on twitter offered to replace them for me, which was a generous and much appreciated offer, but I don't live anywhere near the shop and it would have been inconvenient for me to go all the way back. So, unfortunately the once-tasty macaroons didn't get eaten over the holidays and went to waste.

I will definitely go back to the bakeshop, but I won't be purchasing anything for take-away, just what I can sit and eat while I'm there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K2013B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duchess Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Duchess Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing