We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Drumheller
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and Reliable”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times when in Edmonton for business. It is easy to access and close to downtown events.
I like having the consistency of the Marriott line as well as the friendly, competent staff at the front desk. Check in is always a breeze, I have never had a problem, even when arriving quite late.
The rooms are clean and of course the Marriott pillows are wonderful.
This room I was in had an inordinately small bathroom, but other than that the room was great - clean and quiet.
I always find the valet parking quite expensive, but use it anyway as I would rather my car be parked underground rather than the above ground parking lot next door.. I must say they are very quick about bringing up my car.
The restaurant has a reasonable selection for dinner and each and every time I have eaten there, the food has been good. The breakfast buffet is $12.50 and offers the usual fare, but again, is tasty.
All in all, you can't go wrong staying at this hotel - it is good, dependable and affordable.

Room Tip: the river view is wonderful, but those are always the first to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Smarkay,

We are happy to hear from you and value your kind review. It is encouraging to know that your stay was enjoyable; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are welcomed as they foster change for the better. We appreciate being a part of your trips to Edmonton!

Best,
Paul Feddema
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    148
    64
    29
    20
See reviews for
46
76
27
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I experienced numerous billing issues that were not resolved and largely ignored, which resulted in number of issues with my credit card company. I've stayed at a lot of Marriott's before, and the rooms were dated and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jonathan E,

Our associates understand that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we clearly missed the mark. I’m so sorry for your recent experience with us; I would like to learn more. I am at your service to assist anyway I can. Please contact me if you would like to discuss further.

Sincerely,
Rene Trinidad
Manager
780.423.9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in July. I found the hotel to be updated with very comfortable and clean rooms and excellent staff. The staff were more than willing to provide directions to various things we wanted to see and even recommended a few other things for us to take in.

I had the breakfast buffet and it was very good and reasonably priced. Overall, I found this hotel to be conveniently located and great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoastcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
eastcoastcatlover,
Thank you very much for your review; it’s great to know you enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Salil Kulkarni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after having a bad experience with another Edmonton hotel. We phoned at 1930 and asked if they had vacancy. They did so we drove straight there and we're checked in quickly. I asked for a river view and she stated they were out of those rooms but would give us a very nice room. We got up to our room and it was a corner room where we could see the river from two angles, beautiful. It was super clean, bed comfy and all in all comfortable. Nothing extravagant, only complaint is parking is so expensive but otherwise great experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Adrian R,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our associates; they work hard to deliver superior service. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Salil Kulkarni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
522 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is an updated hotel on the river in downtown. The overall property is well maintained and has the standard Courtyard design and amenities. Views can be quite nice facing the river. The only challenge is parking and the need for a car to do very much in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear FrequentTripster,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is encouraging to hear that your stay was enjoyable; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Salil Kulkarni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at the Courtyard in mid-June for a conference. It was super close to the convention center where our conference was held (within easy walking distance). The staff was very friendly and rooms were clean. The best thing about the staff though was what they did AFTER my trip. I had left a sweater and shirt on the bed when I checked out. When I called a woman named Victorina helped locate my items, they had been found by a woman named DaySi, and they were then mailed by the Guest Services Supervisor Kevin Trinh!! The staff could have easily just kept them or thrown them away but from the housekeepers to the office staff they were beyond professional and helped get my items back home - THANK YOU!! The only reason I give this hotel four stars is because i ordered room service and the food was not very good. I had ordered the 1/2 chicken and it was so salty I couldn't even eat it. The vegetables were good but that's about all. Other than that it was a great stay and I would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Tara H,

It’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. We love hearing you were pleased with our hotel amenities and service; I’m delighted your personal items were returned. I appreciate your honest feedback regarding room-service; your review helps us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and I will share your kind comments with the team.

Best,
Salil Kulkarni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed there for a conference at the Shaw Centre next door (perfect location), and the hotel was great. The rooms were spacious, comfy and had good amenities. The hotel staff were helpful, too - loaning us umbrellas and helping us ship something at the end of our stay. The restaurant, however, needs some work. The food was good but the service wasn't very impressive. We had several business meetings during the week, and had to prompt the servers to refill water. And even after they knew we were expecting someone, they still didn't seat them - I had to go find the person myself!

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side would have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liwoodco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Our associates understand and believe that our valued guests deserve an exceptional stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very nice comments regarding our helpful staff and comfortable rooms with our team; they work hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement; my apologies for the service you received in our restaurant. It is feedback like yours which fosters improvement for future stays.

Best,
Salil Kulkarni, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Property: Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Address: 99th Street & Jasper Avenue 1 Thornton Crt NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Edmonton Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Edmonton hotel is conveniently located next to Shaw Conference Centre and other Edmonton attractions. Experience the new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown hotel, Edmonton's foremost business-class hotel, specializing in casual riverside luxury. This Edmonton Downtown hotel features 177 tastefully appointed guestrooms with free WiFi and a mini-fridge for your convenience. Panoramic views of the river valley and our downtown business district add to the excitement of this magnificent Edmonton hotel. An excellent choice among Edmonton restaurants, our Riverside Bistro serves delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Meeting Rooms offer a spectacular view of the river valley with floor-to-ceiling windows. Facilitating groups of 2 - 100 people, our Meeting Rooms are designed to ensure that every need is met. Among Edmonton hotels and meeting facilities the Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Courtyard
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing