We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Small Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently held a series of seminars at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown Edmonton for approximately 30 people per day. I did not stay at the hotel for these events so cannot comment on the guest rooms.

The main level of the hotel is clean and nicely redone with decor similar to other Courtyard locations. The Thornton Room on the main floor is a beautifully appointed meeting space with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river valley. The room is perfect for a small event and was very comfortable for our group size. Washrooms and a desk area with computers are also conveniently located directly outside of the room.

The catering and service from hotel staff is very good. The meeting room is generally quiet as well, although during one seminar we experienced some noise from the adjacent restaurant. The hotel staff addressed this for our subsequent seminars by ensuring that no restaurant patrons were seated directly next to our meeting space.

Parking is decent for a downtown location. A few of our attendees had some difficulty with valet parking; they received Impark tickets despite using the valet service but we contacted the hotel and they had these cancelled due to their error.

I plan to use this hotel again for future events and highly recommend the Thornton Room for small meetings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SansSouci11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

SansSouci11,
We appreciate you selecting our hotel to hold your series of seminars, and we’re glad you enjoyed your experience with us at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown. I’m pleased to hear of you received great service and found the Thorton meeting room to be clean, comfortable and ideal for your small meeting needs. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for writing and sharing your high recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 410 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

The smallest hotel room I have seen in ten years of constant travel. Ask for room 601 and you will be able to touch 3 walls from your bed – ridiculously small. More like half a guestroom and the hotel act as if this is perfectly acceptable. Other aging hotels of this 1940’s design has invested in knocking 2 way too small rooms into one 2013 acceptably sized guestroom. Not here. The saving grace for this aging hotel is it’s prime location close to the local conference center. The pricing offers a lower end price compared to the expensive Fairmont next door. The local restaurant ‘grill’ view is a prime one overlooking the River that lazily snakes through Edmonton. The chef would not last ten minutes with Gordon Ramsay. Everything is pre processed, the parmesan cheese is out of a bag, the seafood overcooked and the garlic that could so easily be fresh pressed is that nasty dull & tasteless garlic like grit you get out of an industrial sized jar of pre cut garlic. All very disappointing for the business traveller who knows the difference. This place is tired and after asking for a quiet room away from ice machines and elevators I am moved to a larger room directly next to the noisy ice machine. Whatever happened to Marriot’s passion for excellence?

Room Tip: when checking in ask for a larger rom away from their noisy ice machines
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

canadian175,
We appreciate you writing a review and sharing your feedback on opportunities for improving our guest experience. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a satisfying stay with us. I apologize for your unhappiness with the accommodations and any noisy disturbances you encountered during your visit. We value you as our guest and hope that you'll visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for doing business downtown, walking distance to several good restaurants, beautiful view of the river from the deck of the restaurant. Ate at the hotel restaurant, first night service was excellent and food was ok if a little pricey (expected for a hotel). Breakfast food was ok, pricey, service as decent. Last evening dinner food was ok, service was terribly slow.

Nice rooms, good business center with printing features - printed some slides from my room, nice option to have. Front desk and valet staff were very good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Brad B,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel and friendly staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Edmonton. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while in town on business, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and myself enjoyed staying a week in this hotel. People are super nice, calm, the room is everyday cleaned, the food great and the service great!!! We will definitely come back again!!!
Keep the good service!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnele92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Gnele92,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Edmonton. We appreciate you and your husband choosing to stay with us for a week. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, our clean hotel, great food and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here May long weekend to visit relatives. Location is downtown, with a fantastic view of the river valley. Restaurants, bars, groceries, and downtown attractions all within walking distance. Downtown Edmonton is actually kind of fun now!
The lounge /restaurant have a view unmatched in Edmonton & great terrace/patio. Food is good & only complaint would be lack of heaters on patio.
Parking is expensive! Worked out cheaper by valet ($23/day) than than anything else close by. Room costs were very reasonable for facilities, but you have to factor in that parking cost.
Rooms are huge & adequately appointed & clean.
Only real disappointment was attitude of staff. From front desk, to valet, to servers, the attitude was very indifferent, unhurried, and unenthusiastic. Smiles seemed rare. No real rudeness, but no rush to help you either. Exception would be Ann-Marie in the restaurant. She warmed up & was quite personal & friendly after a bit.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for River View
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

cpchil,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed our great location, fantastic views, as well as our clean and spacious accommodations. It’s unfortunate to hear of your disappointment with the attitude of our staff. I have addressed this issue with our team to improve customer service and our guest experience. I’ll be certain to recognize Ann-Marie with a special commendation for her friendly disposition and excellence in service. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in May and had a wonderful time.

They put us in a corner room on the 6th floor, overlooking the Fairmont hotel. The suite was absolutely amazing, comfortable and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.

The room smelled terrific and was very clean.

On the first night we did have some noisy neighbors who stayed up until 6am screaming in the room next door. When we called down the staff was very responsive and even went up to have a word with them, which we appreciated.

The hotel restaurant is really not that great, but the view is amazing.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel for a short visit to Edmonton.

Room Tip: The 6th floor was really clean and modern.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

DeanandTarra,
It’s great to hear from you. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations about our hotel. We’re glad our comfortable accommodations, clean hotel, and attentive staff made for a wonderful stay. Thank you for your review and extending your high recommendations of our great hotel to future travelers. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Edmonton. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Yup. The parking fee was surprising. Everything else was nice, no problems at all and we are spoiled. The water in the room is not complementary however and that kind of bothered us. We just paid a lot of money and the water is not free! Overall, nice location and you can see the downtown. The cherry trees, or whatever those pink things were, wafted their scent in all the streets so it made the air smell excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Elizabeth K,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your disappointment in the parking fee and bottled water. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Tina Norgaard, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#45 of 93 in Edmonton
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
1,257 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 93 in Edmonton
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Edmonton Downtown

Address: 99th Street & Jasper Avenue 1 Thornton Crt NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $109 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Edmonton Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Edmonton hotel is conveniently located next to Shaw Conference Centre and other Edmonton attractions. Experience the new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown hotel, Edmonton's foremost business-class hotel, specializing in casual riverside luxury. This Edmonton Downtown hotel features 177 tastefully appointed guestrooms with free WiFi and a mini-fridge for your convenience. Panoramic views of the river valley and our downtown business district add to the excitement of this magnificent Edmonton hotel. An excellent choice among Edmonton restaurants, our Riverside Bistro serves delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Meeting Rooms offer a spectacular view of the river valley with floor-to-ceiling windows. Facilitating groups of 2 - 100 people, our Meeting Rooms are designed to ensure that every need is met. Among Edmonton hotels and meeting facilities the Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown stands above the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Courtyard
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing