We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yellowhead Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellowhead Inn
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
High Level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yellowhead Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had to move rooms due to hearing person in joining room. Elevator did nit work in morning. I am repeat customer because previous stays have been good. Seems that many things were not up to standard at this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowheadinn, Manager at Yellowhead Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review we have addressed your concerns as they are very important to us
We always want you to enjoy your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely

Crystal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    77
    42
    20
    27
See reviews for
52
59
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wainwright, Alberta
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We accidently ended up here after another hotel messed up our reservation. We were treated very well, and the Manager went out of his way to help us out. Exceptional service! The hotel is dated,but they are renovating. Our room was nice and clean!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clipper02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowheadinn, Manager at Yellowhead Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review. We are definately renovating the yellowhead Inn and it shows
I am happy to know that you received exceptional service and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

sincerely

Crystal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbrook
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

K so stayed here a year ago. Some stuff renovated but the room I stayed in wasn't this time room was renovated. Awesome has two queen beds super comfy. Had a microwave and fridge everything was new. Great bathroom adjustable shower head. Cool t

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynoliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013. We hadn't made any reservations and were traveling with our large dog. We were able to get a room when we walked in. The building was going through some renovations which I don't mind because it means they are at least trying to improve. The room was very large which was nice to accommodate 2 adults and a 130 lb dog. The room was fairly dated in decor, but again, I tend to overlook that as long as I can bring in my dog. We used a side entry/service door that I don't think was ever locked, so I am not confident that the building is completely secure from non-users without an entry key. The staff at the counter were friendly. Overall, it fit our purposes on short notice, but not somewhere I would take my grandparents.

Room Tip: I think that all pets were put in 1 part of the hotel which I like, because non-pet users shouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here March 28-31/13. It was in the part of town we wanted, close to a major casino, on a major highway route, easy to get places from there. They have also done alot of renovations to the place making it look much better than it used to - the lobby is now quite nice and the rooms aren't bad. There the compliments end. The standard of cleaning in the rooms is absolutely atrocious - hairs in the bathroom and it really didn't look like the place had been vacuumed. We left a note and a tip for the maid asking her specifically to vacuum and clean the bathroom - which she did - that day.... The next day when we came back to the room, there was no soap or bathmat in the bathroom, and only one bath towel. When we called down to the front desk we were told there was no one to bring these things to our room until "his guy" came on shift in about an hour. Should also mention that the front desk service is some of the slowest I have ever seen - totally disorganized.

In summary - not a bad LOOKING hotel but grubby dirty with lousy service. You can do better for this price in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeshax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home, null, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hi everyone. Checked in at 2330 hrs on a Friday night, so finding another hotel would be difficult. We settled for the Yellowhead inn based on availability and price ($99 for two nights+$50 deposit). The first room we were checked into was not cleaned: found beer cans, beds were unmade.

We were given another room across the hall which was 30 plus degrees making it very hard to sleep, especially traveling with a dog who couldn't cool herself down. There was a blood stain on the sheet, covered by my pillow. Found cigarette butts and beer bottle caps on the floor. The bathroom garbage was full. The floors were nasty, the TV was fuzzy. We didn't get any sleep that night and had a vball tourney to go to early in the morning.

We returned at 1700 hrs already making the decision to check out and find another room. We gathered all our belongings, packed the car, and checked out. Hotel clerk gave us a corporate rate and returned $60 to me. Then I realized that we were supposed to get $160 in return. I went back to the hotel clerk and had to argument with him in front of others in line to check in. I had to ask him for his name, and wanted to talk to his manager. He then grabbed my receipt and gave us a full return of $249.

It may be hard to believe that I am making all this up. Luckily we found another room for Saturday night and are stress free.

Room Tip: Make sure AC works in your room. Check everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AW006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here in Feb. 2013 - the lobby area was undergoing renovations but who cares when the rooms are clean and the staff friendly. The location right off the main highway is so handy, plus it's very easy to get to major attractions like the Science Centre and West Edmonton Mall. If you're looking for a clean, safe, affordable place to stay in Edmonton, check this out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAFTpttj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
#29 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Thriftlodge Edmonton
#76 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
#56 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowhead Inn

Property: Yellowhead Inn
Address: 15004 Yellowhead Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5V 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowhead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yellowhead Inn in beautiful Edmonton, Alberta is in the heart of the Festival City. Our homestyle atmosphere offers the best Highway Hospitality for all travelers, truckers, and tourists. Only seconds away from the stunning Yellowhead Casino, our home away from home is also the perfect place to enjoy a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yellowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowhead Motor Hotel Edmonton
Yellowhead Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing