We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Argyll Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Plaza Hotel
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as i just moved here from toronto. The rooms are at a affordable price.
The rooms are pretty big with lot of room inside compared to other hotels. The staff is very friendly and are really helpful. The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. location is very convenient near to downtown and a couple of clubs. So overall it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
20
15
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was adequate for an overnight stay with minimal requirements & a reasonable price. Beds & pillows not very comfortable but everything was decently clean. Could have used extra blankets; amenities like lotions & emergency toothbrush were lacking. Decent location with lots of conveniences nearby but overall a little old & dated. Could use a facelift & some extra little perks to make it special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Point
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for a night while traveling on a business trip. Check in was quick, although the person at the front desk was not that friendly. Arived at the room, and it was better than expected. Adequate room, mini fridge in the room, more than enough space. There is a popular nightclub in the same building, but the rooms were very quiet. Location is a bit poor, ad currently there was construction in the area. For the price, it was well worth the stay. Also went on a quick trip to the casino, $10 cab fare each way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euphoria18_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel used to be better for the price. Stayed here last year and it was basic but room was big and was clean and we were only there to sleep and then gone. But I stayed for 1 night a few days ago, after a long drive, so checked in pretty late. I just got in and went to bed. In the morning light, the room wasn't clean - left over food in the fridge, tub was barely wiped out let alone washed, my foot stuck to the carpet over by the couch, the windows (behind the closed blind so I didn't see this till the morning) were just grubby. I will say that the bed linen was clean, and so were the towels and the sink and toilet. Burn holes in half of it, but clean. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you really are on a very tight budget, are just using the room to sleep and don't have any little kids who might touch anything. On the plus side - room was pretty quiet, sturdy locks on the door, feels safe. The rooms are huge, but I guess the downside of that is more to clean. The wireless internet connection wasn't great, but worked long enough for what I needed.

Room Tip: Ask for streetside if you want any sort of a view other than roof top mechanical units from the conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank inkmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel is located in a semi-Industrial Park area - close to the major freeway. The hotel owns the Strip-Mall in which it is located. I say semi-industrial, because there are lots of small companies and business in the area. But there are also lots of places to eat in the area and in this strip-mall. The hotel is an older design, but constructed out of decorative cement block inside and out - so it is VERY quiet. Not much of a view, but the staff is good, and there is a restarant attached to the hotel. Some reviews mention a "Chemical Smell" in the room. I didn't smell it, but my travel partner did, but didn't mind it. Very clean room, microwave & coffee maker. Good TV & Internet. Well worth the stay - LOTS of free parking.. One eating place in the plaza offered hamburgers and the Lamb/Pitas - it was excellent for fast food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I have traveled all over the world and have paid some high prices for dives and lower prices for more than modest accommodations. Considering the high prices for hotels in Edmonton in the summer, I would say that this hotel is more than reasonable for the price you pay. I have no idea what other customers were expecting - if you are going to pay $80 in a $160 market, you are going to get average accommodations. Only by sheer luck will you get the Ritz for cheap (which, by the way is possible if you know when to look). I stayed in a smoking room and it smelled pretty clean to me. The room was spacious and, yes, the decor is a throwback to a couple of decades ago. The windows open, there is air conditioning and, in the non-kitchenette rooms, they even supply you with a mini fridge and a microwave oven. There is complimentary continental breakfast in the morning and the customer service was reasonable. I was quite satisfied for my $80/night room. It is, however, off the beaten path so having a car is probably a good idea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwannano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Driving up we realized we had booked in the wrong area of town. That is your first warning.
Secondly, the hallways and elevator smelled like someone had been sick and it hadn't been cleaned up. Our room appeared relatively clean but everything was old and smelled like old smoke and urine. There was cigarette melt marks on the sheets as well, and the bathroom felt like it was not truly clean. Spend an extra 10 or 15 bucks and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superfluous_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#57 of 93 in Edmonton
341 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Ramada Edmonton South
Ramada Edmonton South
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
347 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#19 of 93 in Edmonton
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
Days Inn Edmonton South
#33 of 93 in Edmonton
355 reviews
Sands Inn & Suites
#83 of 93 in Edmonton
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Plaza Hotel

Property: Argyll Plaza Hotel
Address: 9933 63 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Edmonton for pleasure or business, Argyll Plaza Hotel is always the right choice for a comfortable and relaxing stay in our oversized suites of 450 sq/ft! Our rates include complimentary high speed internet access, HD cable TV with 4 complimentary movie channels, air-conditioning, microwave, fridge and coffee maker in each suite, business centre access, coin operated laundry facility, fitness centre with dry sauna and free parking. We offer free continental breakfast to our guests (complimentary gluten free options available as well). We are located in South Central Edmonton. Our hotel is conveniently located in a plaza which offers the following businesses: Argyll Ice Arena, Union Hall concert Hall (new concerts featured weekly), Convenience Store, Liquor Store, many Fast Food and sit down Restaurants plus more. Argyll Hotel is a close drive to Whyte Avenue which offers a vibrant scene including world class festivals, entertainment, live music and numerous restaurants, shops and bars. We are also minutes away from various landmarks such as University of Alberta Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital, Downtown Edmonton and South Edmonton Common Shopping Centre. Contact us today and take advantage of any of our many special rates: Corporate, Hospital, Long-Term Stay, Military, Senior or any large party stay! Book the Argyll arena and ask for special hotel rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argyll Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Plaza Edmonton
Argyll Plaza Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing