We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service/Unique Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mrkt

Mrkt
Ranked #478 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 105 and 106 St.
Transit: On many Jasper Avenue routes.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service/Unique Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I booked this place to celebrate a girls weekend bachelorette party. It was the perfect choice. We were seated along a long communal table with a nice view of the entire place. They made the best Manhattan I've ever tasted. When I made the reservation I stated I was vegan and they gladly created a dish specifically for me. Was so impressed by the meal, that I ate it before I could take a picture. I really appreciated of how they accommodated all of us and our our meals came out fantastic. Great way to start the evening before we headed out for the rest of our evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place for a business lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Met some colleagues here for lunch and found it just perfect. The food was excellent, service attentive and they got us out in time. Nice that they take reservations too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manyfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique Edmonton Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband booked a table at MRKT , so we were totally surprised when we found out we were to be seated at the long communal table! But in the end this turned out to be a good thing as we spoke to interesting and fun people ,all here to enjoy themselves with like minded foodies and overall nice dudes all around (no need to fear the initial fear!).
We enjoyed the presentation of the food ,Fondue Cheese was sublime ,thoroughly enjoyable . Main course of beef and sweet potato mash with coleslaw not as good as I expected though .And the french wine by the glass I requested that was advertised not available .Service was a great balance of professional and down to earth ,which we really enjoyed !
Went back a few days later for the beef sandwich to take out ,and it was one of the best food items i'd tasted in Edmonton ,loved the packed chips in the bag too,
so much style and effort ,you won't regret the walk up the stairs ,.a great find in Edmonton.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed appetizers and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mrkt is a small restaurant on Jasper Avenue. It has both individual tables as well as a long shared table. I have been for both lunch and dinner and have enjoyed both. I have not had a bad meal there. In particular the time I am reviewing I enjoyed appetizers and drinks with friends. We enjoyed sharing the melty cheese, which was super yummy with bread, cheese fondue, smoked salmon, red onions and large capers. Although a little pricier ($22 I recall), it was great as an appetizer for two. Also, as someone who doesn't currently drink alcohol, I really appreciated the non-alcoholic beverages on the menu. They were creative and something different from the "juice or pop" options at most other restaurants. I will be back again and again, I'm sure. Tip: if you want a table to yourself, either come early or make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply perrrrfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

2nd visit with fellow crew members. Once again it was a hit. Everything was up to expectations and delicious. Not one bad comment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrkt also viewed

 

Been to Mrkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing